A HISTORY OF
THE METHODIST CHURCH
The church was divinely established: "Being built upon the
foundation of the apostles and prophets, Christ Jesus himself being
the chief corner stone; in whom each several building, fitly framed
together, grovveth into a holy temple in the Lord; in whom ye also
are builded together for a habitation of God in the spirit."
Eph. 2: 20-22
Christ is the head of the church: "The stone which the builders
rejected is become the head of the corner."
"Ye call me Teacher (Master) and Lord; and ye say well for so
The great commission which Christ gave to his church was and
is: "Go ye therefore, and make disciples of all the nations, bap-
tizing them in the name of Father, and of the Son and of the Holy
Digitized by the Internet Archive
JONESBORO METHODIST CHURCH
«•*•«- ••■•>*" »■>.•„
Perspective by W . L. Bishop
Location — The Jonesboro Methodist Church, located on the west side of the
town of Jonesboro, from which it derives its name, is well located geographi-
cally — its location being in the center of the State and in a fine agricultural
area. The wisdom in the selection of the location oi this church is seen not
only by the several roads leading to it. but also, by the relation of the
location to the other Methodist Churches in this section.
The Methodist Church
SANFORD, NORTH CAROLINA
Daisy Kelly Cox (Mrs. L. P. Cox)
MEMBER OF THE CHURCH
PRINTED PRIVATELY BY THE AUTHOR
Copyright 1955, Mrs. L. P. Cox
PRINTED IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
PRESSES OF THE SEEMAN PRINTERY, INC., DURHAM, N. C.
My Church is such a friendly place to pray
Its doors are always open; welcoming me,
I like to go early in the morning light
Feeling the need of closeness to my God,
Or to offer thanks for many generous blessings,
That have been mine throughout the darksome night;
And when I kneel in quiet solitude,
To talk to Him who understands and cares,
I feel the peace of joy, I feel forgiveness
That comes from my confessions to my God.
At times it seems I hear the heavenly choir
As I await for guidance for my day,
In this beloved and sacred Sanctuary
That has meant God to many through the years.
— Daisy Kelly Cox.
Bishop Francis Asbury, the pioneer bishop of American
Methodism, prophesied that the American Methodists
would become "a numerous and wealthy people" and
that prophecy has been fulfilled. He also expressed a
fear that the future Methodists might forget about the
struggles, hardships and privations of the pioneer Meth-
odists in America and now that fear seems to be justi-
fied. There are thousands of Methodists in America who
are ignorant of the history of their church. It is not
surprising then that many of them are unable to be real
I am, therefore, very happy when any of our preach-
ers, laymen or lay women write the histories of our local
churches. I have always been interested in study of
American history but no phase of our American saga pos-
sesses the romance, the heroic element, the interest and
the inspiration that is found in the record of Methodism.
We are all indebted to Mrs. L. P. Cox for preparing the
history of our Jonesboro Heights Methodist Church. Mrs.
Cox has given us the thrilling story of how a small con-
gregation with thirteen charter members has become in
1954 an important station in our North Carolina Con-
ference, how the congregation began in a little school
house which served in a double capacity as an institute
of learning and a house of worship for the Methodists.
Mrs. Cox has outlined the progress of the charge under
the various pastors and pays tribute to hundreds of lay-
men and lay women who have made possible our strong
Jonesboro Heights Church today.
I wish to express my personal thanks to Mrs. Cox
for her excellent historical contributions. I know that this
record will inspire all who read it. My wish is that sim-
ilar histories of all our Methodist congregations in our
North Carolina Conference might be prepared at the
earliest possible date.
Paul Neff Garber
September 10, 1954
Poem — "My Church" v
The Church i
The Background 2
Special Memberships 99
Service Roll 101
A General Summary 103
Poem — "Steeples" 108
Methodist Church Building Frontispiece
Methodist Parsonage Facing page 82
A HISTORY OF
, THE METHODIST CHURCH
SANFORD, N. C.
Having been authorized by the Quarterly Conference of
the Jonesboro Methodist Church, in 1953, to write a his-
tory of the Church, I have decided that it would be diffi-
cult to write one without mentioning the fact that since
its origin this church has been a part of the Jonesboro
charge of the Fayetteville District, North Carolina Con-
It seems appropriate to say in the beginning that this
church was established as a Methodist Episcopal Church,
South, and remained such until Methodist Union came in
1939 when the Methodist Episcopal Church, the Meth-
odist Protestant Church and the M. E. Church, South,
were merged into the Methodist Church.
In 1877 a high school adjoining the church was estab-
lished as a part of the educational program of the Meth-
odist Church. For the benefit of those who may be con-
fused as to the intergrowth of the church and school, the
school was operated under the auspices of the Fayetteville
District of the North Carolina Conference.
The sources from which I get my information being:
Research at Duke Divinity Library, District and Quarterly
Conference Records, the Journals of the Annual Confer-
ence, Church deeds that are available, and by correspond-
ence with former members of the early church.
It is important to trace, as far as possible, the beginning
of the organization. Therefore, it is unfortunate that the
church and community records are quite meager as to the
historical beginnings of Methodism in Jonesboro and vi-
cinity of Moore County. (Now Lee County.)
It is not known whether Bishop Francis Asbury, one
of the "founding fathers" of the Methodist Church in
America ever visited this section, or whether he helped
to establish any of the smaller churches in this vicinity.
The churches known on this circuit were: Morris
Chapel, Memphis, Concord, Midway, Sanford and Poplar
Springs which has a long and honored history as the
"Mother of Churches."
With some additions and subtractions from time to
time the Jonesboro charge remains to this day; the
churches on the charge being Jonesboro and Lemon
Rev. Gaston Farror who came to Jonesboro circuit in
November, 1867, was a native of Chatham County. No
records of his predecessors could be found in the oldest
available North Carolina Minutes which date back to
1838. He served this circuit 1867-69. A great pleasure of
his life was to preach the Word of God; his preaching
was with force and power.
Rev. Bernice B. Culbreth a native of Owensville, Samp-
son County, served Jonesboro circuit in 1870-71. As a
preacher he was plain and evangelical. He loved to call
sinners to repentance and was strictly a revival preacher.
Early in the year 1870 it became evident that two im-
portant matters were to be considered: First, the need
of building a comfortable house for the preacher to live
in; one that was in keeping with the other good houses
of the community. Second, that the time was ripe for
the pastor and people to establish a preaching place and
Sunday School for Methodists in Jonesboro as this was
unoccupied territory contiguous to their charge.
On the eighteenth day of May, 1870, two acres of land
(church lot as it was then known) was purchased by
Elisha Watson, Dr. John M. Campbell, K. H. Worthy,
Geo. S. Cole, E. R. Partridge, S. H. Campbell and John
Vaughan, Circuit Trustees of the Methodist Episcopal
Church, South. This land was sold to the trustees by N.
R. Bryan for the sum of fifty dollars. It was on part of
this site that the first Methodist parsonage in east Jones-
boro was built and presently owned and occupied by Mr.
H. H. Brewer and family.
The Annual Conference meeting in Fayetteville in
December, 1872, made a pastoral change. Rev. S. D.
Peeler was sent from Jonesboro to Carthage, Rev. B. C.
Phillips from Mattamuskeet circuit to Jonesboro. Mr.
Phillips was born near Fair Haven, Moore County, N. C,
July 29, 1 84 1. He was licensed to preach at Center
Church, Moore County, in 1866. He was known among
the men who knew him best as "a good faithful min-
ister, who was a tireless worker." K. H. Worthy was Lay
Delegate to this Conference. In the same Annual Con-
ference the bishop announced that he had ordained the
following person : Elder, David McNeill, of Jonesboro cir-
cuit. McNeill was so reported throughout the years up
to and including 1915. Nothing more is found of him as
Statistics for Jonesboro charge 1872: local preachers 1,
white members 424, colored members 0, infants baptised
2, adults baptised 6, Sunday Schools 6, Sunday School
teachers 53, Sunday School scholars 369. Amount as-
sessed for the pastor's salary not given.
In 1872 a small day school was established in the village
of Jonesboro, known as the Jonesboro Academy (Non-
Denominational) which later was the place of worship for
a Methodist congregation. This school house was moved
from near the John I. Kelly place, in East Jonesboro, to
the site of the present Jonesboro School on West Main
Street. (N. R. Bryan sold one and one-fourth acres to the
Jonesboro Academy Trustees for and in consideration of
the sum of five dollars.)
In 1873 Annual Conference again assigned B. C. Phil-
lips to Jonesboro. Statistics for the year on the charge:
local preachers 1, white members 432, colored members
o, infants baptised 3, adults baptised 4, Sunday Schools 6,
Teachers 25, Sunday School Scholars 200, 1 parsonage
value $1,200, number churches 5, value churches $2,000.
Amount assessed for the pastor's salary $600; paid
Mr. John Vaughan was elected delegate to the Annual
Conference which was to meet in Raleigh in December,
1874. B. C. Phillips was returned to the work here.
In following up the work of this church it seems wise
to develop this history along the lines of each pastor's
tenure in office. It must be remembered that at the time
this church was organized, Jonesboro was a small village.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. B. G. PHILLIPS
Three years after Jonesboro Academy was opened a
Methodist congregation of about a dozen members was
organized and Rev. B. C. Phillips became their first
Pastor. This historian has endeavored to unearth as near
as possible the exact date of the origin of the Jonesboro
Methodist Church and it now seems accurate to place this
date in the year 1875.
The little school house served the double function of an
institute of learning, and a house of worship, for the
It is quite evident that there were no more than thir-
teen charter members. While there are no records, it is
known by people well acquainted with the early history
of this entire section and who knew personally all the
family groups in this area that K. H. Worthy, Mrs. Mar-
garet E. Worthy, Dr. John M. Campbell, Geo. S. Cole
and his wife Mrs. Mary Cole, John Vaughan, Rora
Barnes and wife, Belle Worthy, Annis Worthy, Mary
Worthy, George Caddell and his mother Mrs. Charity
Caddell Muse were charter members. Thus, the little
church of thirteen members was launched.
It was represented by B. C. Phillips and George S.
Cole that year at the Annual Conference. The next year,
1876, K. H. Worthy was elected delegate to the Confer-
On the 5th day of October, 1876, G. S. Cole, Dr. John
M. Campbell, Elisha Watson, John Vaughan, E. J. Lilly,
K. H. Worthy and E. R. Partridge, Trustees of the
Methodist Episcopal Church, South, bought the Acade-
my and three acres of land from A. A. Mclver and Dr.
John M. Campbell, Trustees of Jonesboro Academy and
George S. Cole and wife Mary, J. Bryan, Isabella M.
Bryan, A. A. Mclver and wife Flora A. Mclver. Rev.
B. C. Phillips was a witness to the signing of this deed.
Shortly after the church was organized its members be-
gan to plan for the development of a church. A commit-
tee was appointed to secure an option on a building site
as near the center of town as possible. Again it seems
accurate to place the date in the year 1876, a lot on the
corner of West Main and Academy Streets was purchased
by K. H. Worthy, A. J. Sloan, Elisha Watson, G. W.
Avent, Rora Barnes, Jno. Vaughan and G. S. Cole, Trus-
tees of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, from A.
A. Mclver and wife Flora A. Mclver.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. S. V. HOYLE
The Annual Conference of November, 1876, held in
Greensboro, again assigned Rev. B. C. Phillips to Jones-
boro. After appointments he asked Bishop H. H. Kav-
anaugh to change the appointment. His request was
The bishop, knowing Rev. S. V. Hoyle (then serving
Oxford) liked to build churches and schools, called Rev.
Mr. Hoyle and told him that he was going to send him
Mr. Hoyle was born in the District of Columbia, Jan-
uary 7, 1836. He was a member of the Virginia Confer-
[ -6 ]
ence until 1869, when he was transferred to the Baltimore
Conference, and in 1872 was transferred to the North
Carolina Conference. When he came to this church the
roll of the church was a half sheet of what was called
"Fool's Cap." There was no church at Jonesboro. Ser-
vices were held in the one-room school house. George S.
Cole was Superintendent of the Sunday School, and Geo.
B. Caddell was Secretary.
Jonesboro High School
Rev. Mr. Hoyle secured Rev. J. D. Arnold, as head of
the Methodist School — Jonesboro High School. He and
Arnold served by appointment as Chaplains in the Con-
federate Army during the latter part of the Civil War
and in that way were acquainted.
The first term of school began early in 1877 m me °^
school house. Before fall, there was erected a two-story
frame building in which the school was continued. The
old building was then given the name, "Music Rooms."
Mr. Arnold conducted the school until the end of 1879,
at which time he took active work in the ministry of the
North Carolina Conference.
The small town of Jonesboro during this time became
an educational and cultural center. Many men and
women attended this school, and afterwards became
prominent in the history of the churches of the State
and in other various professions. The people of the com-
munity appreciated having this school in their midst.
It must also be remembered that at the time the Meth-
odist school was in operation, the trustees of the school
were also the Trustees or Stewards of Jonesboro Meth-
odist Church. The pastor of the church sometimes served
as principal of the school.
THE METHODIST CHURCH
Construction on the new church was begun, two years
after the first move was made, in 1875. Rev. S. V. Hoyle
was appointed to solicit subscriptions. He also served
on the building committee. }. W. Masemore was secured
as builder. Work continued steadily to reach the first
objective, enclosing the building; then a scaffold fell in-
juring two carpenters, Charlie Riddle and John Brown.
All the rest of the work was delayed until they recovered
sufficiently to be on the job again. After that additional
labor was hired. Reports heard in that year were: "Jones-
boro is building a large and expensive house of worship
within the bounds of the Fayetteville District."
The energetic work of the Pastor and members was re-
warded by the handsome structure of wood that is still
standing, and it soon came to be recognized as a church
of extraordinary beauty and attractiveness. The steeple
contained a bell which for many years drew the attention
of all who heard it.
The first Woman's Foreign Missionary Society of the
church at Jonesboro was organized on March 8, 1879, by
Mrs. S. V. Hoyle (Mrs. Nannie Jordan Hoyle). Ten
ladies met one afternoon in the parsonage with Mrs.
Hoyle and the eleven composed the charter members.
They were: Mrs. J. M. Stephens (the first wife of J. M.
Stephens), Miss Helen Tarham (Mrs. Clark, later Mrs.
Fitts), Miss Bettie Watson, Mrs. George S. Cole, Mrs.
R. Walker, Mrs. J. D. Arnold, Misses Belle, Annis, and
Mary Worthy and Miss Josie Bryan. Mrs. Hoyle was
elected President. First and second Vice-Presidents, Mrs.
Cole, Mrs. Walker; Corresponding Secretary, Mrs.
Arnold; Recording Secretary, Miss Mary Worthy; Treas-
urer, Miss Bryan. This was the third pioneer adult auxili-
ary organized in the Conference. The society lived only
a few years. It was re-organized in 1885.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. G. F. ROUND
The Annual Conference meeting in Wilson in Decem-
ber, 1879, assigned Rev. G. F. Round to Jonesboro cir-
cuit, and W. M. Robey to Jonesboro High School. Hav-
ing found the church at Jonesboro heavily in debt from
the building of the year before, and the other churches
behind in their payments for previous repairing, Mr.
Round was confronted with a difficult task. His pastorate
here lasted for a year. George S. Cole was the elected
delegate to Annual Conference.
Wesley Moorman Robey, high school principal at
Jonesboro 1880, was born in Yadkin County, N. C. Li-
censed to preach at the age of twenty four; joined this
Conference in i860.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. J. J. CARDEN
The Annual Conference which met in Durham, No-
vember 23-28, 188 r, assigned Rev. J. J. Carden to Jones-
boro. The Jonesboro High School to be supplied. Fi-
nancial records for Mr. Carden's pastorate in the Annual
Conference Journal shows the amount assessed for the
Bishop $10, paid $10; for Presiding Elder $100, paid $80;
for the pastor $775, paid $600.
Jonesboro High School, incorporated by act of the
General Assembly of North Carolina, 25th day of Febru-
ary, 1 88 1. Value of property, $2,500.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. J. D. ARNOLD
The Rev. J. D. Arnold, who had served as principal
of the Jonesboro High School, as has been stated in a pre-
ceding paragraph, was now sent to Jonesboro circuit by
assignment of the Annual Conference meeting in Raleigh,
December 6, to December 12, 1882. When he came to
this pastorate the membership of the nine churches was
reported as 616 white members, colored member 1, 8
Sunday Schools, 560 scholars, officers and teachers 50; li-
braries, volumes 500, value $50; Parsonage 1, value $1,200.
Church's value $8,000. Names of churches of Jonesboro
circuit not listed. Mr. Arnold again served as school prin-
cipal; the institution had four teachers, sixty students.
At the meeting of Quarterly Conference in 1883, it was
decided to sell the parsonage in East Jonesboro on August
30, and build on a lot that could be purchased next door
to the Jonesboro Methodist Church. K. H. Worthy, A. A.
McPhail and Elisha Watson, Trustees of parsonage prop-
erty in Jonesboro circuit were instructed to sell it to the
commissioners of the Cape Fear circuit at the price of
$413.33, the lands occupied by the Methodist parsonage,
not including the lot between the parsonage and S. H.
Buchanan's. If default of payment of the purchase price,
due on or before the 1st day of January, 1885, the property
to be sold at auction. According to the Quarterly Con-
ference minutes the circuit was to have the use of the
property for the preachers on this circuit (Jonesboro) un-
til that date, free of rent. This parsonage being unfin-
ished, was the reason for low sale price.
In 1883, the commissioners under the action of the
Quarterly Conference, authorized the trustees to sell the
lot adjoining the parsonage lot, held for the M.E. Church,
South, and pay the money to the Trustees who were previ-
ously appointed to build a church in Jonesboro. John
Vaughan was Secretary of this Quarterly Conference. The
results of the sale were gratifying. The church was en-
abled to go through the year promptly meeting her bills.
On August 8, 1883, the Trustees of the Methodist Epis-
copal Church, South, bought a lot on West Main and
Academy Street (where present Pastor's residence is now
located, from H. W. Lilly, for $300. (This land was
previously owned by George S. Cole.) The deed was
made to Wm. C. Doub, A. J. Sloan, K. H. Worthy, Elisha
Watson, Dr. J. M. Campbell, J. W. Berryman, Geo. W.
Avent, John Vaughan, and Rora Barnes, Trustees. The
church then built the second Pastor's home. This was
under construction over a period of several years.
The Quarterly Conference minutes taken down by
the secretary, were not recorded or have been lost, but
according to information gathered from other reliable
sources, the church was dedicated in the year 1884. The
first organ (pump type) was purchased for the church
about 1884. The parsonage was ready for occupancy in
THE PASTORATE OF REV. W. O. HIGHTOWER
The Annual Conference meeting in Charlotte, N. C,
November 25 to December 2, 1885, assigned to the Jones-
boro circuit and Jonesboro High School the Rev. W. O.
Hightower, who had just been elected to elder's orders.
The parsonage was under construction on the pay-as-you-
go plan. Mr. Hightower moved into the two, partially
finished rooms. In this year the Conference Board of
Education gave the following report:
"Jonesboro High School is the property of the Fayetteville District
Conference, is located in Moore County, in the town of Jonesboro
on the Cape Fear and Yadkin Valley Rail Road. It is a school
of high grade, and has been well managed by its board of trustees.
It has been well patronized by the surrounding country and has
given great satisfaction to its patrons. We commend it to the
people as in every way worthy their support. Number of teachers
4, number of students 75.
In 1886, when a Conference Woman's Department of
Church Extension was organized, Miss Belle Worthy was
appointed the first secretary of the Fayetteville District.
The first Quarterly Conference minutes of 1887 show
the church stewards were: K. H. Worthy, A. J. Sloan,
Dr. A. J. Monroe, W. A. Godfrey. Sunday School Su-
perintendent, R. H. Broom; Secretary of Church Confer-
ence, W. A. Sloan; Recording Steward, A. J. Sloan. At
this same Conference L. M. Chaffin, a member of this
church, was recommended for admission on trial to the
During the last year of the Rev. Mr. Hightower's pas-
torate, of this charge, a society was organized at Sanford
(Steele Street). The Pastor's salary was $800. The Jones-
boro Church was assessed $380, Poplar Springs $200, Mor-
ris Chapel $150, Sanford $70. Church Trustees were A.
J. Sloan, K. H. Worthy, Elisha Watson, Dr. J. M. Camp-
bell, J. W. Berryman, Geo. W. Avent, John Vaughan, and
The minutes of the fourth Quarterly Conference of
1887 show that Rev. L. M. Chaffin was preacher in charge
for this quarter; Mr. Hightower left before finishing the
year. This Conference recommended to annual Confer-
ence that L. M. Chaffin, local preacher, be admitted on
trial in the traveling connection.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. W. B. DOUB
The Annual Conference meeting at Fayetteville, No-
vember 30th to December 6, 1887, assigned Rev. W. B.
Doub to Jonesboro circuit; which he served from 1888-89.
In 1880 he was married to Miss Josie S. Bryan, a native
of Jonesboro. As a preacher he was always instructive,
and often his sermons were strong in argument, illustra-
tion and spiritual power. The officers of the church for
the year 1888 were: K. H. Worthy, A. J. Sloan, Dr. A. J.
Monroe, G. B. Caddell, Dr. J. M. Campbell, J. W. Berry-
man, John Vaughan, Elisha Watson, G. W. Avent, and
Rora Barnes. R. H. Broom, Superintendent of Sunday
School; Recording Steward, A. J. Sloan. Trustees: G. W.
Avent, Dr. J. M. Campbell, R. H. Broom. President
Woman's Missionary Society, Mrs. S. A. Chaffin.
Jonesboro High School was never more prosperous than
in the late part of 1887-88 — when it was under direction
of Prof. R. H. Broom, who gave satisfaction to the Trus-
tees and friends of the school. A paper published in 1888,
tells of the school activities and contains many names of
persons well known throughout this section. There was
then an enrollment of 47, and a large amount of prac-
tical work was being done.
The first Quarterly Conference of 1888 added A. J.
Sloan to the parsonage committee and appointed the
Pastor to work with him in canvassing the membership,
who had not already stated what they would give on fin-
ishing the parsonage. The results were so encouraging
that Mr. Doub made a favorable report on the progress
of the parsonage to the next Quarterly Conference. In
the third Quarterly Conference K. H. Worthy was elected
delegate to the Annual Conference. Neill McKay Wat-
son, a member of this church, was admitted on trial at the
Annual Conference, 1888. At the fourth Quarterly Con-
ference, 1889, the application of R. H. Broom of this
church, to preach, was granted. Robert Houston Broom
was admitted on trial at the 1889 Annual Conference.
In 1889, Jonesboro Church was reported to be worth
$3,500. A lot had been added valued at $35. Parsonage
valued at $1,000, with a debt of $200. Total membership
of circuit 439; net increase for the year 20.
In September, 1889, the Court House in the town of
Charthage, N. C, Moore County, was burned and in it
also the Registers office in which all records were de-
stroyed including the Jonesboro High School and Jones-
boro Church deeds. The Trustees being anxious to have
the said deeded property established, asked for the renew-
ing of the deeds, which Mrs. Flora A. Mclver was willing
to renew. The school's deed was dated January 8, 1890.
Jonesboro Church deed was dated September 15, 1891.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. J. W. NORTH, D.D.
Rev. John W. North, D.D., who came to Jonesboro in
December, 1889, was a native of Williamsburg County,
S. C. Trinity College conferred upon him the Degree
of Doctor of Divinity, and in 1878 he was elected to the
General Conference. Dr. North was a man who lived
what he preached; therefore, he commanded attention and
respect of the people he served. The Conference year
beginning with December, 1889, and ending December
1890 had the following officers for Jonesboro Church:
Superintendent of Sunday School, J. J. Partridge; Stew-
ards, K. H. Worthy, A. J. Sloan, Dr. A. J. Monroe, G. B.
Caddell, J. N. Barnes, J. J. Partridge. The Trustees were:
Dr. A. J. Monroe, A. J. Sloan, Elisha Watson, K. H.
Worthy, Rora Barnes, John Vaughan. In the first Quar-
terly Conference held at Jonesboro February 24, 1890, a
committee was appointed consisting of G. W. Mann and
D. B. Robertson, to raise the amount needed for rodding
the church (lightning rods). The minutes of the second
Quarterly Conference show that the Secretary, A. J. Sloan,
was instructed to proportion the amount due on the par-
sonage ($181) to the different churches on the basis of
their assessment for the ministerial support, and inform
the committee of same.
In this same year (May 3, 1890) Trustees of the church
purchased three-fourths of a two-acre tract of land, known
as the cemetery lot, from K. H. Worthy and wife for the
sum of seventy-five dollars. One-fourth acre was sold by
the Worthy's to the town of Jonesboro, on the same date,
for extending the cemetery. K. H. Worthy was the
elected delegate to the annual Conference.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. J. E. THOMPSON
The Annual Conference, held in Wilson, N. C, De-
cember 10 to 15, 1890, assigned Rev. John E. Thompson
to the pastorate of the five churches: Jonesboro, Morris
Chapel, Poplar Springs, Sanford, and Midway. At the
beginning of this new pastorate the first Quarterly Con-
ference records of January 14, 1891, show the following
officers at Jonesboro: Trustees, K. H. Worthy, A. J. Sloan,
Rora Barnes, Geo. S. Cole, John Vaughan, Elisha Wat-
son; Sunday School Superintendent, Z. V. McWhorter;
Stewards, K. H. Worthy, A. J. Sloan, Dr. A. J. Monroe,
G. B. Caddell, and J. N. Barnes. A. J. Sloan was elected
Secretary of the Quarterly Conference. In the second
Quarterly Conference of this year it was announced that
A. J. Sloan and K. H. Worthy had been elected delegates
to the district Conference. The fourth Quarterly Con-
ference records show that Michael Bradshaw, a member
of Jonesboro Church and teacher in the Jonesboro High
School, was unanimously recommended to the Annual
Conference, to be admitted on trial in the traveling con-
The elected Trustees for the ensuing Conference year
were: K. H. Worthy, A. J. Sloan, Rora Barnes, G. S. Cole,
John Vaughan, Elisha Watson; Superintendent of Sun-
day School, J. W. Masemore; A. J. Sloan, Recording
Steward; K. H. Worthy, District Steward. Stewards
were: K. H. Worthy, A. J. Sloan, G. B. Caddell, J. N.
Barnes. The second Quarterly Conference held March
26, 1892, elected Prof. W. J. Helms, of Jonesboro High
School, to replace J. W. Masemore, who had resigned.
The first Quarterly Conference minutes for the current
year 1893 are brief and do not give many facts; however,
Mrs. D. F. Thomas (Bettie Hinton Kelly), was received
by letter from the Shallow Well Christian Church during
The second Quarterly Conference meeting at Midway,
April 1, elected K. H. Worthy and Prof. W. J. Helms
delegates to the district Conference. Miss Minnie D.
Sloan and W. J. Helms were elected delegates to the
Sunday School Conference. Jonesboro had 108 pupils
on roll in Sunday School, 13 officers and teachers. At
this same Conference, K. H. Worthy was elected delegate
to the Annual Conference.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. L. J. HOLDEN
The Annual Conference meeting in Wilmington, N. C,
December 6 to 11, 1893, assigned Rev. Lucien Jerome
Holden to Jonesboro Circuit. He was born in Orange
County, North Carolina, December 2, 1844. His sermons
were pointed, earnest and evangelical. His magnetic so-
cial qualities drew the people to him and gave him en-
larged influence for good. The entire course of his pas-
torate was marked by revivals. The second Quarterly
Conference minutes show the Jonesboro congregation had
a very gracious revival resulting in 30 accessions to the
church. Officers of the church for the year 1894 were:
Stewards, K. H. Worthy, A. J. Sloan, G. B. Caddell, J. L.
Godfrey, Dr. A. J. Monroe; District Steward, K. H.
Worthy; Recording Steward, A. J. Sloan, W. S. Chaffin,
Superannuate. D. B. Robertson, J. N. Barnes and Elisha
Watson were elected to fill vacancies in the Board of
Trustees. The pastor's report to the second Quarterly
Conference mentioned one Woman's Missionary Society,
one Bright Jewel Society.
Prof. H. P. Boggs wrote the report on Jonesboro High
School, for the Fayetteville District Conference, at Siler
City in July 1894, the last year he was principal at Jones-
boro. The report is given here in full :
As Principal of the Fayetteville District School, I beg leave
submit the following report: Number of Pupils enrolled session of
1893-94, x 43* Two states were represented and six P.O.'s in this
state. Number of pupils whipped, two. No expulsions, no sus-
pensions. The general behavior and moral character of the pupils
were excellent. The present system of discipline has been a suc-
cess. The teachers were earnest conscientious consecrated women,
cultivated and educated and zealous in the development, not only
of the mental, but also of the moral, physical, and social natures
of their pupils. They will be continued through the present year.
A male assistant has been engaged, also. There is no distinctive
school boarding house, but the Principal can command board
among the best families of the town. Pupils can be boarded, two
to six in a place, in Christian homes with refined people at from
$8 to |io per month. They will be under the management of the
ladies with whom they board and under the authority of the
Principal. The Principal has control, also, of several vacant houses
which he can rent for school purposes at reduced rates. These
can be utilized as club houses, if any community wishes to place
children with some of their neighbors — and they can board them
as they wish.
At this same Conference the following report from the
Board of Trustees of Jonesboro High School was read and
We, the Trustees of Jonesboro High School, beg leave to sub-
mit our annual report. First: The buildings are in good repair.
The insurance of one thousand dollars is kept up. The institu-
tion is out of debt. Second: The patronage of the school is not
as large as it ought to be. Nor as large as we think we ought to
expect; and we think this is due to neglect or indifference of the
preachers and laymen of the district who are expected to look
after and work for the institution of our church. This property
belongs to the church and particularly to Fayetteville District and
yet it cost the church but little outside the immediate vicinity of
the school. Our facilities for doing good work are ample, and all
we ask is that you send us the young men and young women and
we are confident that you will be satisfied with our work. We
understand that Jonesboro High School is dedicated to Christian
Education, and while our best energies will be given to training
and developing the mind of the pupils yet we cannot and will
not neglect the moral and spiritual direction of all who are com-
mitted to our care.
K. H. Worthy, Chairman.
The fourth Quarterly Conference of November 17 in-
structed Mr. Holden to appoint a committee of ladies, at
each church, to raise the amount due on the parsonage.
The church Trustees for the year 1895 were: K. H.
Worthy, A. J. Sloan, John Vaughan, Elisha Watson, J. N.
Barnes, D. B. Robertson. The Stewards were the same
as the previous year. J. W. Masemore was now elected
Steward. Prof. }. H. Sledd was elected Superintendent
of Sunday School to replace W. P. Boggs, who had re-
signed. G. S. Cole was elected to the Board of Educa-
tion; W. S. Chaffin, Superannuate.
During Rev. Mr. Holden's pastorate here, a Sunday
School was organized at Manchester with a membership
of 60. In April, 1895, Manchester Church was organized
by Mr. Holden, with timber bought, paid for, and on the
lot to build a church. His report to the District Con-
ference shows 29 accessions to that church following a
revival. The record also shows that the church building
at Midway was finished in this year.
The Fayetteville District Conference met in Jonesboro
Church in 1895. In May, the church elected as delegates
to the Conference, K. H. Worthy, Elisha Watson, and
Dr. E. P. Snipes. At that time the Conference met two
days, Friday and Saturday, July 26-27. It was the custom
in those days for brethren and sisters to visit other
churches on their Conference days. On the first day the
Rev. K. A. McLeod, Pastor of Jonesboro Presbyterian
Church was a visitor — L. J. Holden submitted the fol-
lowing report from the Board of Trustees of Jonesboro
High School which was adopted.
"We, the Trustees of Jonesboro High School, beg leave to sub-
mit the following annual report.
"While the school has not been as large during the past year
as some previous years, yet considering the scarcity of money and
the general financial depression our school was fairly good. The
total enrollment for the past year was 86. The moral tone of the
school has been good. The school building is in need of repairs
and we respectfully ask the District Conference to look after this
matter at once. It will require $50 to put the building in good
order. To neglect this matter longer might be a serious injury
to the property. We respectfully suggest that the money be raised
"We congratulate ourselves and the District Conference, upon
the selection made for Principal in the person of Prof. J. H. Sledd,
who comes to us with the best endorsements from prominent ed-
ucators, preachers and laymen of our own and other churches in
this State, Arkansas and Virginia, his native state. We heartily
commend him to all people who have children to educate, and
can assure them that their boys and girls will be in safe hands
if they are committed to his care. And we urge upon the preach-
ers and people of Fayetteville District to rally to the support of
the Jonesboro High School as their own institution. Much care
has been exercised in the selection of the faculty of the institution
and the teachers are not those who are trying their hands but have
each been selected on account of their special adaptability to the
work assigned them. They are teachers by training and experi-
ence and we feel assured that they will compare favorably with
those of any other institution of like grade and character.
"Our school not being a local enterprise wholly, but the property
of this District and as such, property in which every Methodist
of the District should have an especial interest and for whose up-
building they should use their best efforts, and in order that its
influence may be extended and the entire District may be brought
into closer union and greater concert of action for its support,
we respectfully ask that its present board of trustees be increased
from seven to fifteen. We would suggest the following Brethren
be added to the present board, viz: Jno. B. Makepeace, Sanford;
J. A. Green, Lillington; J. M. Lamb, Fayetteville; Capt. J. O. A.
Kelly, Broadway; J. D. Barnes, Dunn; Hon. W. F. Stroud, Chapel
Hill; J. D. Mann, Siler City; A. A. Harrington, Jr., Hope Mills.
"We would further suggest that this board meet immediately
after the election, and elect from their number an executive com-
mittee of not less than three, nor more than five members whose
duty it shall be to look after all the interests of the institution
and transact any business that may present itself during the time
that intervenes between the annual meeting of the board. All of
which we respectfully submit and beg that decisive action may be
taken upon such part of this report as demand it." Signed: W. H.
Moore (Presiding Elder) L. J. Holden (Preacher Charge at Jones-
boro) K. H. Worthy, Geo. S. Cole, G. W. Avent, A. J. Monroe,
A. J. Sloan, Board Trustees.
On Friday night Prof. J. H. Sledd addressed the Con-
ference on the subject of Christian Education. L. J.
Holden presented application of A. J. Groves for license
to preach. His license was granted.
R. A. Wills offered the following resolution: "That
the hearty thanks of this District Conference be tendered
to the good people of Jonesboro for the very generous
hospitality shown us during our stay here this week."
This was adopted.
In 1896 the church Stewards were: K. H. Worthy, J.
L. Godfrey, Dr. A. J. Monroe, John Barnes, Dr. E. P.
Snipes, and G. S. Cole: Superintendent of Sunday
School, A. J. Groves. Mr. Holden's reports to the second
Quarterly Conference, April 2, in this year show that B.
Cole was instructed to represent to the District Confer-
ence that this Quarterly Conference recommend the con-
version of the district school property at Jonesboro into
a district parsonage. The church and school at Man-
chester has been transferred to Lillington Circuit. The
pastor's report on the church is here given as found in
the Record of Jonesboro Circuit:
"The spiritual state of the Church is good except at one point.
We believe at that point this state of things has grown out of
matters of long standing in which strife has nearly sapped the life
of religion and turned the energies of mind and heart into forces
of evil that are ready to strike down any and everything that may
oppose. We call upon the church in the bounds of this charge
to be patient, prayerful, hopeful and faithful, remembering that
the great Head of the church will bring good out of evil if we
are only ready for it.
"May the many true men and women of this charge, who have
not bowed the knee to Baal, be enabled through the strength of
Christian character and assurance of God's blessings and help to so
guide and counsel the young of the church that they shall not
suffer by the evils that surround them. We are trusting God and
in the fear of God and love for the church we will look for better
On the first day of the District Conference held in
Dunn, N. C, July 16, 1896, L. J. Holden addressed the
Conference on the condition of Jonesboro High School
and on the advisability of transferring it to the manage-
ment of Trinity College. Rev. L. Leitch moved that the
management of Jonesboro High School be transferred
to the management of Trinity College.
The hour for divine service arrived, and on motion of
Dr. Nash the time was extended 10 minutes for the dis-
posal of the matter in hand. K. H. Worthy made a few
remarks favoring the transfer. The hour of 11 arrived
and the Conference, having reached no decision, ad-
journed for the service.
Conference met at 3 P.M.; and the business relative
to Jonesboro High School was resumed. Rev. L. Leitch
and L. J. Holden offered the following resolution which
was accepted as a substitute for the original motion:
"Whereas we think it exceedingly advisable to unite our educa-
tional institutions under one management, Resolved, That while
our present Board of Trustees hold the property of our High
School at Jonesboro for this Conference, the management of the
school, such as appointment of teachers, fixing the curriculum etc;
be transferred to the Board of Managers of Trinity College."
The matter was discussed by Dr. L. L. Nash and Oscar
J. Spears. The following petition was read:
Jonesboro, N. C, July 15, 1896.
To the members of the Fayetteville District Conference, M.E.
Church South, Dunn, N. C:
Your petitioners are informed that a petition is being circulated
by the Pastor in charge of Jonesboro M.E. Church, asking that the
District High School at Jonesboro be turned over for manage-
ment to Trinity College, and with reference thereto your pe-
titioners respectfully represent,
1st. That as your petitioners are informed a resolution favor-
ing such action was gotten through a minority meeting of the
Board of Trustees by a vote of 3 to 2 by the Pastor, who is a
Trustee, a proxy of absent trustee having been procured and voted
to that effect; but that the majority of the Board, and those who
have been identified with the interest and care of the school
from its founding, are opposed to the measure as unwise and
inexpedient, and against the best interest of the school.
2nd. That in our opinion the proposition is not made and
urged with a sincere desire to further the interest of the school;
but with a view to removing from office the local members of
the Board of Trustees who are unacceptable to the Pastor in
yd. That these Trustees have for years shown their faith-
fulness to the school; some of them having contributed largely
to its building and establishment and in our opinion the interest
of the school will be better advanced by leaving its management
in the hands of these person who are so closely and personally
identified with its interest and who have thorough personal knowl-
edge of the conditions and needs of the school.
4th. That as friends and patrons of the school we declare that
it would be detrimental to the advancement both of the school
and church in this community, if the proposed change in man-
agement were to take place, and that it would be an injustice
and a reflection upon the integrity and intelligence of the people
who have built and supported and should know how to manage
$th. That it would be an unwelcome charge on Trinity Col-
lege, and will contribute more to the patronage of Trinity, if its
usefulness is not impaired by undue interference in its manage-
ment. That the Board of Trustees of said school are thoroughly
in sympathy with Trinity College, and we know that the present
method of managing the school is to the best interest of the college
as well as to the school.
Signed: Jno. Vaughan, J. B. Womack, A. R. Kelly, J. A. M.
Thomas, A. L. Wicker, D. B. Shields, J. W. Wicker, W. A.
Thomas, J. I. Kelly, H. A. Oliver, S. N. Liles, Wm. J. Kelly, A. P.
Barbee, W. A. Kelly, D. B. Buchanan, W. G. Parrish, W. H.
Humber, A. C. Vick, Hughes B. Hoyle, D. B. Robertson, Geo.
B. Caddell, Mrs. Minnie Campbell, Ida Campbell, Mrs. N. J.
Hoyle, Mrs. M. Shields, }. O. Gunter, G. F. Hunt, Jas. Dalrymple,
Marte Riddle, P. S. Cox, J. B. Cole, W. H. Dudley, W. A. Sloan,
J. N. Masemore, S. H. Buchanan, J. B. Buchanan, T. N. Camp-
bell, A. Dicker, E. J. L. Kelly, Mrs. W. S. Chaffin.
The following protest was read:
Jonesboro, N. C, July, 15, 1896
To the Fayetteville Distict Conference of the Methodist Epis-
copal Church, South, Dunn, N. C.
We the undersigned, Trustees of Jonesboro High School re-
spectfully protest against Conference taking any action towards
turning the management of the School over to Trinity College.
We affirm our loyalty to Trinity College, and declare that the
school and its management are in full sympathy with Trinity
College, and as evidence of that fact, we call attention to the
patronage of the College by almost all the young men prepared
for college at Jonesboro High School.
We believe that the proposed change in the management would
result in injuring the school because of the manner in which it is
sought to bring it about, and actually decrease the patronage of
Trinity from this school. We believe, and we ask the investiga-
tion of the Conference on this point, that the movement does not
have its origin in a desire to improve the school or advance the
interest of Trinity, but in a desire to disassociate from the man-
agement of the school those trustees whose views have come in
conflict with those of the trustees who urge and advocate the
We respectfully call attention to the fact that the trustees who
protest against the proposed change represent those who built
and have maintained and supported the school. We respectfully
declare that the change is proposed and urged by the pastor in
charge of this circuit, who is not in harmony with the people of his
church and that it does not represent their views or the desires
of the patrons of the school.
Signed: George S. Cole, A. }. Sloan, A. J. Monroe.
The following paper was read:
Jonesboro, N. C, July 15, 1896
To the members of Fayetteville District Conference of the M.E.
Church, South, Dunn, N. C.
You will have presented to you by Rev. L. J. Holden a pe-
tition with our names signed thereto, asking that the manage-
ment of the District High School at this place be transferred over
to Trinity College. Since signing said petition we learn that it
is not the desire of the majority of the local Trustees, nor of
quite a number of the patrons of the school, and therefore re-
spectfully ask that our names be erased therefrom. Signed, W. M.
McFarland, J. A. Nelson, W. H. Humber, P. S. Cox, James H.
Mann, J. R. Watson, W. E. Murchison.
Note the following statement made in reference to the
above mentioned petition. "Had I known there was the
slightest difficulty, I would not have signed any paper
or petition relative to the matter." — W. E. Murchison.
The subject was discussed by Oscar J. Spears, Rev.
L. J. Holden, and Dr. L. L. Nash. The previous ques-
tion was called for by K. H. Worthy, and the conference
sustained the call; the resolution was then read, and
adopted — 30 voting for, and 4 against it.
The pastor's report to the fourth Quarterly Conference
of 1896 shows the Woman's Foreign Missionary Society
at Jonesboro had 13 members. The Bright Jewel Band
with a membership of 44, contributed $20.50 to missionary
work during the year.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. D. L. EARNHARDT
The Annual Conference meeting in Kinston, December
9 to 14, 1896, sent Rev. D. L. Earnhardt to Jonesboro Cir-
cuit; which he served 1897-1900. Mr. Earnhardt was
recognized as a strong preacher by all the people in the
charge he served. At the beginning of this new pastorate
the Quarterly Conference records show the following
officers: Trustees, Dr. A. J. Monroe, and Elisha Watson.
Stewards, K. H. Worthy, J. A. Nelson, J. N. Barnes and
J. L. Godfrey. Sunday School Superintendent, J. W.
Masemore. Jonesboro had on roll 108 pupils, 13 officers
In the first Quarterly Conference which met March
13, 1897, we find that Jonesboro charge was assessed $54
for the district parsonage to be built in Fayetteville ; to
be distributed on basis of pastor's salary, and committee
appointed to collect same. (Mrs. J. W. Masemore was
named for Jonesboro.) The pastor's report to this Quar-
terly Conference stated — "We have an interest in a union
school at Underwood's Schoolhouse where I believe good
is being done."
In a meeting of the second Quarterly Conference on
June 12, 1897, Dr. A. J. Monroe was elected a delegate
to the District Conference at Sanford. The pastor's re-
port to this Quarterly Conference states there is com-
mendable interest among our people in the cause of
education. Our district school at Jonesboro has just
closed a term in which the highest enrollment was 97.
Incidental expenses have been met amounting to $23.50.
Fall term begins August 3, 1897.
In a meeting of the District Conference held July 23,
in Sanford, Mr. Earnhardt reported two Parsonage Aid
Societies, one Juvenile Missionary Society, and one
Woman's Foreign Missionary Society at Jonesboro with
The District Conference Board of Education reported
at this same conference that "the Fayetteville District
School at Jonesboro and which ought to be a great help
in our educational work in the district, is not as pros-
perous as we desire; and hoping that it may be more
efficient, we recommend that the entire management of
this school again be placed in the hands of the Board
Dr. A. J. Monroe, B. Cole, M. J. McPhail, and J. W.
Burns elected delegates of Jonesboro Circuit were a part
of this District Session when another matter of far reach-
\2 7 ]
ing importance was mentioned in the pastor's report,
namely the state of the church: "The type of piety on
Jonesboro circuit is very good. There is less worldliness
in the form of whiskey drinking and dancing than I have
seen on other charges. The young people are too much
inclined to absent themselves from the Communion
Table. There is the largest number of men who will
pray in public that I have found anywhere."
The church officers for the year 1898 were the same as
the previous year with one exception: Prof. Arthur Ar-
rington was elected Superintendent of Sunday School.
J. N. Barnes's resignation as Steward was accepted. G. B.
Caddell was elected to replace him. The pastor's salary
was $800; Jonesboro was apportioned $300, Sanford $250,
Poplar Springs $175, Morris Chapel $140, Midway $70.
The second Quarterly Conference meeting April 23,
elected delegates to the District Conference — A. Arring-
ton, K. H. Worthy from this church. "Mr. Earnhardt's
report to District Conference meeting in Siler City July
28, 1898, states that the Woman's Foreign Missionary So-
ciety at Jonesboro has a membership of 18 members, not
doing much work, it collects the regular dues. The
Jonesboro High School is doing good work, under the
management of Prof. Arthur Arrington. I regret to say
that he has been dependent so far, almost entirely, on
local patronage, which is a poor record for the district.
I do not hesitate to say that the District Committee ought
either relinquish its hold upon the property, so that it can
compete with other private schools, or rally to its support,
and give it the patronage it justly deserves."
The Presiding Elder read a paper from three of the
Trustees of Jonesboro High School, tendering their resig-
nations; and it was referred to the Committee on Educa-
On motion of Dr. Nash the resignation of K. H.
Worthy, A. J. Monroe and G. S. Cole, Trustees of Jones-
boro High School, was accepted. The following were
elected to fill the vacancy caused by their resignation:
Stephen B. Worthy, John N. Barnes, and J. L. Godfrey.
At a meeting of the fourth Quarterly Conference held
September 10, 1898, it was ordered that the church at
Jonesboro secure the cooperation of all the other churches
here, to prevent a government distillery being erected
here. It was the order of this conference that the name
of the church, now known as Midway, be changed to
Lemon Springs. The pastor's report to this conference
states — "While the spiritual state of the church is not
satisfactory, I think it is improving and is perhaps better
than it has been for several years. Though there are no
bar-rooms within our bounds, yet the still-house and its
influence upon our people is our greatest barrier and
curse. I long for the time to come when our govern-
ment will suppress this wickedness."
This fourth Quarterly Conference ordered that D. L.
Earnhardt appoint a committee in regard to enlarging
limits of corporation to keep out whiskey.
The matter of repairing High School and fencing at-
tached, at Jonesboro, was referred to D. L. Earnhardt and
K. H. Worthy with power to act.
In 1899, the Stewards were the same as of the previous
year, with Arthur Arrington serving as Superintendent
of Sunday School.
Miss Clyde Buchanan (now Mrs. R. N. McMillan), was
organist for the "Bright Jewels," little children's society;
B. J. leader, Miss Florence Robertson.
In the District Conference held July 27, 1899, at
Brown's Chapel, the pastor reported that he had two
weekly prayer meetings at Jonesboro well attended, For-
eign Missionary Society with 17 members, which raised
annually over $1 per member. No Home Mission Society,
but two Ladies Aid Societies that took their place. The
Sunday School had suffered a decline. The charge usu-
ally paid about 90% of the salaries.
This item is found in the Secretary's minutes for the
District Conference that year: "Dr. J. Sandford stated to
the Conference that he attended the first session of the
Fayetteville District Conference which was held in the
town of Rockingham in 1866, making this the thirty-
When the District Conference of July 25, 1900, met
in Carthage, N. C, Mr. Earnhardt read the report of
Trustees of the District School at Jonesboro, which, upon
motion of J. M. Lamb, was referred to the District Board
of Education. The District Board of Education report
is given in full —
We recommend that the District Conference pass the following
Resolved that the Trustees of the Fayetteville District Confer-
ence School, located at Jonesboro, N. C. are hereby instructed, if
they deem it wise to do so, to sell said school property when
they can find a purchaser who will pay $1000 cash or its equiva-
lent for said property and hold the funds subject to the action
of this Conference. D. L. Earnhardt, Chairman Board of Educa-
Prof. Palmer Dalrymple, of Jonesboro High School (and a
member of Jonesboro Methodist Church) was introduced and
addressed the conference.
Value of Jonesboro High School property in 1900 was $1,500,
teachers 4, students 100.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. J. M. ASHBY
Rev. J. M. Ashby came to Jonesboro with the turn of
the century by assignment of the Annual Conference
meeting in New Bern, in December 1900. He was born
in Patrick County, Virginia, educated at Trinity College,
graduating in 1883 and in the fall of the same year he
joined the North Carolina Conference. Friends de-
scribed Mr. Ashby as "steady, reliable, faithful as a pas-
tor, strong and vigorous as a preacher — he made im-
pressions on the charge that will abide."
The Quarterly Conference minutes of Rev. Mr. Ashby's
pastorate here were lost, however, the District Confer-
ence records show Sanford circuit was listed for the first
time in 1901. A parsonage was under construction there
On July 23, 1902, the District Conference meeting in
Dunn, N. C, used much of this Annual Session in dis-
cussing Jonesboro School — a resolution having been
passed by a former session recommending the sale of the
property. A statement was made by J. M. Ashby that a
proposition had been made by the town of Jonesboro
for the purchase of the property (buildings and lot) and
upon motion it was ordered that this proposition be re-
ferred to the District Board of Education. Chairman
L. E. Thompson reported the committee had before it for
consideration the proposition from the town of Jones-
boro to buy the district school property there for the sum
of $500; the school to be continued by the town as a non-
sectarian institution. The committee therefore passed the
following resolutions to submit to this body for concur-
Resolved first, That this District Conference offer to sell to
the town of Jonesboro our District school property there for the
sum of $750, and that the original proposition to sell the prop-
erty for $1,000, be left open to any other purchaser than the
town of Jonesboro: provided, first, that a new survey of the prop-
erty be made in any case; and provided, second, that no part of the
church lot as now used be included in the sale.
Resolved second, That in case a sale be made the money be
turned over to Q. K. Nimmocks, Treasurer of the District Par-
sonage Fund subject to use in building the District Parsonage
if occasion arises preceding our next District Conference.
Jonesboro Church felt this proposition unfair, that they
needed part of the proceeds from sale of this property to
be used in paying a debt on its own parsonage.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. B. G. ALLRED
The Annual Conference of December, 1902, meeting in
Wilmington, assigned Rev. B. C. Allred to Jonesboro
circuit. The churches on this charge were: Jonesboro,
Poplar Springs, Morris Chapel, Memphis, and Concord.
The officers of the Jonesboro Church for the conference
year running from December 1902, to November 1903
were: Trustees, John Vaughan, G. S. Cole, A. J. Sloan,
Dr. A. J. Monroe and D. B. Robertson; Stewards, J. L.
Godfrey, J. N. Barnes, S. B. Worthy, B. R. Avent. In
the first Quarterly Conference, held January 24, 1903,
the pastor's salary was fixed at $700. Evander K. Creel
was reported a licentiate of the church in 1903. Nothing
more is found of Creel as a preacher.
On July 23, 1903, B. C. Allred addressed the District
Conference meeting in Siler City as to the sale of the
District High School, in Jonesboro. General discussion
followed. The conference ordered a Committee of In-
vestigation, to report at the next session for final action.
The committee: B. C. Allred, J. H. Frizelle, R. H. Broom,
S. B. Worthy, Q. K. Nimmocks, J. D. Barnes, and B.
In this same District Conference, the pastor Rev. B. C.
Allred reported the attitude of his people in general to
the missionary cause: Jonesboro, "careless."
THE PASTORATE OF REV. E. POPE
The Annual Conference which met in Goldsboro, in
1903, assigned to the Jonesboro circuit the Rev. E. Pope,
at a salary of $>8oo and parsonage. In the list of officers
of the church 1904 we find these names: Superintendent
of Sunday School, S. B. Worthy; Trustees: John Vaughan,
G. S. Cole, A. J. Sloan, D. B. Robertson, Dr. A. J. Mon-
roe. The Stewards were: J. L. Godfrey, A. J. Sloan, S. B.
Worthy, and B. R. Avent. The pastor organized the
Sunday School into a Missionary Society in April, 1904.
The District Conference convened in its thirty-ninth
session at Jonesboro, July 21-23, 1904. In the final session
Rev. E. Pope, chairman of the committee on investigating
the sale of the high school property, presented their report
recommending that the property be sold to the school
committee of District No. 1, Jonesboro, Moore County;
for the white race, for the sum of $500, the same to be paid
as soon as the papers are fixed. This committee further
recommended that $200 of the money paid for this prop-
erty be appropriated to Jonesboro's church to be used in
furnishing and paying a debt on their parsonage, and the
remaining $300 be applied on indebtedness on the dis-
trict parsonage at Fayetteville. The report was adopted
by parts and then almost unanimously as a whole. The
disposition of this property implies, also, the satisfactory
enlargement of the Jonesboro church lot.
Delegate elected to the Annual Conference: J. L. God-
frey, Jonesboro. T. A. Smoot, offered the following reso-
lution of thanks which was adopted: "That the District
Conference is heartily grateful to the people of Jonesboro,
for opening their homes to the ministers and delegates,
and offering them such royal and hospitable entertain-
ment." Student attending Littleton College, Ella Reid
It is definitely recalled that the Rev. Mr. Pope was full
of energy and determination and did fine work while
serving here, both as a pastor and as principal of the
Jonesboro High School.
Mrs. T. N. Campbell (DeLaney Perry), a faithful
worker in the activities of this church taught school at
Jonesboro under Mr. Pope's supervision in this same year.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. J. G. HUMBLE
Rev. J. C. Humble came to Jonesboro in November,
1904, by appointment of Annual Conference. During
this pastorate the Quarterly Conference records of Jan-
uary 1, 1905, show the following officers: Trustees, J. L.
Godfrey, B. R. Avent, A. J. Sloan, Dr. A. J. Monroe, and
D. B. Robertson; Stewards, J. L. Godfrey, A. J. Sloan,
John Jackson; Superintendent of Sunday School, B. R.
Avent; and Parsonage Trustee, A. J. Sloan. J. L. God-
frey, and A. J. Sloan were elected delegates to the Mis-
sionary Conference in Asheville by the second Quar-
terly Conference. In the third Quarterly Conference
records, 1905, the officers of the first Epworth League
at Jonesboro were: Dr. H. B. Hoyle, President; George
B. Caddell, First Vice-President; Miss Fannie Avent,
Second Vice-President; Miss Mayme Gibbons, Third Vice-
President; Mrs. J. N. Barnes, Secretary; E. R. Partridge,
Assistant Secretary. Membership, 32. The Quarterly
Conference authorized the Trusiees of Jonesboro Church
to sell and grant title for lots in Jonesboro Cemetery.
Those attending Methodist schools: Herman Humber,
Trinity Park High School; Clyde and Alton Campbell,
Trinity College; Delia Sellars, Littleton Female College.
In a meeting of the third Quarterly Conference on
July 7, 1906, we find this reference: The resolution to
remove Concord Church to Broadway was received and
THE PASTORATE OF REV. L. H. JOYNER
The Annual Conference meeting in Rocky Mount, N.
C, December 1906, assigned Rey. L. H. Joyner to Jones-
boro circuit. The Rev. Mr. Joyner was a man of pleasing
personality and was always loved by the people wherever
he served. He visited the members of the five churches
often during this pastorate which lasted four years. The
officers of the church for the Conference year running
from December 1906 to December 1907 were: Superin-
tendent of Sunday School B. R. Avent; Trustees: A. J.
Sloan, J. L. Godfrey, B. R. Avent, Dr. A. J. Monroe, and
D. B. Robertson. The Stewards were, A. J. Sloan, }. L.
Godfrey, B. R. Avent, John Jackson and Geo. B. Caddell.
A. J. Sloan was Secretary of the Quarterly Conference;
George B. Caddell was Recording Steward and Church
At the first Quarterly Conference of 1907, the pastor's
salary was fixed at $800. The deed for Broadway Church
is first mentioned in 1907 in the Jonesboro circuit Trus-
District Conference met at Jonesboro Church for the
third time, March 26, 27, 28, 1907. The graded school
building was offered to the different committees to use at
will. Report was made on the sale of Jonesboro High
School property. $300 was appropriated to District Par-
sonage, $200 to Jonesboro Church. A. J. Sloan was elected
delegate to the Annual Conference.
Rev. E. E. Rose offered the following resolution, which
"Whereas we have been most kindly entertained by the good
people of Jonesboro, and this kindness has been duly appreciated."
"Therefore, be it resolved: That the thanks of this Conference
are justly due, and are hereby tendered to the good people of
Jonesboro, and our prayers are that God may abundantly bless
The church officers for the year 1908 were the same as
the previous year except for two changes; Superintendent
of Sunday School was Geo. B. Caddell. The second Quar-
terly Conference records of May, 1908, show that Dr. H. B.
Hoyle was elected to fill vacancy in the Board of Trus-
tees replacing Dr. A. J. Monroe, deceased. In the meeting
of the fourth Quarterly Conference held November 28,
1908, the minutes show the Woman's Foreign Missionary
Society paid for the year $36. Mrs. S. A. Chaffin was
President, Miss Belle Avent, Secretary, memberhip 24.
In 1909-1910 the church officers were: Superintendent
of Sunday School, J. R. Rives, District and Quarterly
Conference Recording Steward, A. J. Sloan; Trustees:
A. J. Sloan, B. R. Avent, D. B. Robertson, Dr. H. B.
Hoyle, J. L. Godfrey. Stewards, A. }. Sloan, J. L. God-
frey, B. R. Avent, John Jackson, A. E. Kelly and Sion H.
Cox. Pastor's salary shows a slight increase, now $850.
The second Quarterly Conference held March 13, 1909,
recommended H. E. Myers member of Jonesboro Church
to the District Conference for license to preach, which
Students attending church schools in this same year
were: Colton Godfrey, Charlie Foushee and Laurane Joy-
Mrs. W. A. Sloan, Treasurer of the Woman's Foreign
Missionary Society reports number of members 25, money
collected in this year $32. In 1909 Broadway is listed
with the other churches on the charge.
The first Quarterly Conference records for the current
year 1910 show that the pastor's salary was increased from
$850 to $900. The fourth quarterly Conference meeting
at Concord, October 8, 1910 on motion of L. H. Joyner
the order to sell Concord Church at some former Quar-
terly Conference was rescinded. Jonesboro Church or-
ganized a Woman's Home Missionary Society in October,
Some interesting notes are found in the pastor's report
to District Conference that year:
"We have a live Womans' Foreign Missionary Society at Jones-
boro, one of its members — Mrs. Mary F. Humber, is supporting
a Bible woman in China."
"The Ladies Aid Society had electric lights installed in the
parsonage. About one year ago I told some of the ladies I would
be glad to have electric lights in the parsonage. The next day
they were put in."
"The following students are attending our church schools:
Lessie Buchanan, Charlie Foushee, Colton Godfrey are at Trin-
ity College, Earl Myers attended Trinity Park School and Laurane
Joyner, Louisburg Female College."
THE PASTORATE OF REV. H. M. EURE
Rev. H. M. Eure came to Jonesboro by appointment of
Annual Conference of November, 1910, at a salary of
$1,000 and parsonage. He was born in 1861 in Nash
County, N. C. The church officers for 191 1 were the same
as of the previous year.
In the second Quarterly Conference held April 22, 191 1,
the pastor reported quite a perceptible increase in the at-
tendance at the regular preaching services. However,
the Sunday School appeared to be on a general decline.
A large per cent of the adult membership of the church
took no part in the Sunday School and manifested no in-
terest in that important work of the church.
The fourth Quarterly Conference meeting in October,
191 1, Mr. Eure reported that the Woman's Foreign Mis-
sionary Society with 22 members, and the Home Mission
Society, membership 17, were doing very good work.
In the first Quarterly Conference, held January 26,
1912, the following officers were reported: Church Trus-
tees J. L. Godfrey, B. R. Avent, D. B. Robertson, Dr. H.
B. Hoyle; Stewards, A. J. Sloan, Sion H. Cox, B. R.
Avent, John Jackson, L. H. Gibbons and A. R. Rives.
L. H. Gibbons was elected church leader, J. R. Rives is
listed as Sunday School Superintendent. Ella G. Eure
was attending Louisburg College.
An announcement of interest to the Jonesboro Church
was made in 1912 at the North Carolina Conference an-
nual meeting of the Woman's Missionary Society that
Miss Alice Green of Jonesboro, had asked for a recom-
mendation from the conference for a foreign appoint-
ment, which was given.
The money for the first piano for the church was large-
ly raised through the untiring efforts of Miss Lill God-
frey and Miss Clyde Buchanan.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. J. G. JOHNSON
The Annual Conference of November, 1912, assigned
Rev. J. G. Johnson to the pastorate of the six churches,
Jonesboro, Morris Chapel, Poplar Springs, Memphis, Con-
cord, and Broadway. The officers of the church for the
conference year 1913 were: Superintendent of Sunday
School, J. R. Rives; Trustees, A. J. Sloan, J. L. Godfrey,
D. B. Robertson, Dr. H. B. Hoyle. Stewards, A. J. Sloan,
J. L. Godfrey, B. R. Avent, Sion H. Cox, John Jackson,
A. R. Rives and W. J. Cameron. A. J. Sloan was elected
secretary of the Quarterly Conference. Rev. J. D. Pe-
gram, a retired minister, was a member of the Quarterly
Conference. Students attending church schools — Gladys
Johnson, Louisburg College ; Alex Worthy, Clement John-
son, and Colton Godfrey, Trinity College. In the first
Quarterly Conference, meeting in January the pastor's
salary was fixed at $1,000. In a meeting of the second
Quarterly Conference, held April 18th, it was moved and
carried that Mr. Johnson was instructed to devise plans
for paying off the indebtedness on the parsonage; and J.
R. Rives was elected delegate to the District Conference at
Lillington. The fourth Quarterly Conference meeting
November n, 1913, authorized the Trustees of Jonesboro
to remodel their church. This church was valued at
THE PASTORATE OF REV. C. W. ROBINSON
The Annual Conference which met in Oxford in De-
cember, 1913, assigned Rev. C. W. Robinson to Jonesboro
circuit. He was born in 1858 at Mt. Gilead, N. C. He
was a devout, consecrated pastor and preacher, and was
held in high esteem by the people he served. The Quar-
terly Conference roll for the year 1914 was as follows:
Sunday School Superintendent, J. E. Brinn; Trustees, A. J.
Sloan, J. L. Godfrey, John Jackson, A. R. Rives, W. J.
Cameron and B. R. Avent. In a meeting of the fourth
Quarterly Conference, held September 26, 1914, Raymond
Barnes was elected church Trustee replacing D. B. Rob-
When organic union of the N. C. Woman's Foreign
and Home Mission Societies was authorized in 1914, the
Woman's Foreign and Home Mission Societies at Jones-
boro Church were merged into the Woman's Missionary
In 1915, J. E. Brinn was again Superintendent of Sun-
day School. The Stewards were: A. J. Sloan, B. R. Avent,
J. L. Godfrey, W. J. Cameron, Sion H. Cox, John Jackson,
and A. T. Lambeth. The first Quarterly Conference for
the current year was held at Jonesboro. The following
were appointed to draft suitable obituary of Rev. J. D.
Pegram, deceased: C. W. Robinson and A. J. Sloan.
A firm stand against several money-making projects,
expressed in a resolution presented at the 1915 annual
meeting of the N. C. Woman's Missionary Society in
Rocky Mount was of vital concern to every member of
the Jonesboro Woman's Missionary Society who had a
sense of responsibility toward following those resolutions,
both individually and as a group.
The following interesting resolution, signed by every
member of the Council, was read and placed on record:
"Whereas tithes and offerings are God's plan for financing the
Kingdom, we urge that this plan be taught and practiced in our
We further urge that rummage sales, silver teas, festivals, sup-
pers, bazaars, plays and such devices, which bring the Lord's
work before the public as a money making institution or as a
mendicant, be condemned by this body."
Rev. C W. Robinson and A. }. Sloan represented the
church at the District Conference meeting at Parkton,
May 12-14, I 9 I 5- The delegates from Jonesboro, Mr.
Robinson, and A. J. Sloan, were a part of this fiftieth ses-
sion of the Fayetteville District Conference when the fol-
lowing resolution to Hon. Woodrow Wilson, President
of the United States was adopted, with the request that
the same be communicated to President Wilson by tele-
gram. Because of its historical value the telegram is
His Excellency, President Woodrow Wilson, Washington, D. C.
In this great crisis that confronts our nation, We, The Fayette-
ville District Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church,
South, wish to express our utmost confidence in you and to as-
sure you that our prayers are with you that you may safely lead
our nation through the perils that confront it.
— }. T. Gibbs, P. E. Fayetteville District.
In 1916 the church officers were: Superintendent of
Sunday School J. R. Rives; Trustees: A. J. Sloan, J. L.
Godfrey, Ray Barnes. Stewards were: A. R. Rives, A. J.
Sloan, John Jackson, J. L. Godfrey, A. T. Lambeth, Sion
H. Cox, W. J. Cameron and B. R. Avent. President of
the Woman's Missionary Society, Mrs. J. D. Pegram.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. T. H. SUTTON
Rev. T. H. Sutton came to this charge in December,
1916, by assignment of the Annual Conference. Mr. Sut-
ton came to the church at an unusual time. World War
I was in progress; young men were sent to military
camps; people felt the need of guidance by a consecrated
pastor. Rev. Mr. Sutton served acceptably. He offered
prayers for the soldiers and Country in words long to be
remembered by the parents of the soldiers and by other
persons present. In 1917 the church officers were: Stew-
ards, A. J. Sloan, B. R. Avent, A. R. Rives, Sion H. Cox,
J. L. Godfrey, Charlie Foushee, Nelson Martin, and A. T.
Lambeth; Local preacher, T. E. Wyche; Superintendent
of Sunday School J. R. Rives. The Trustees were: A. J.
Sloan, B. R. Avent, J. L. Godfrey. The minutes of the
first Quarterly Conference, held January 20, 1917, show
the pastor's salary for the year was $1,100; assessment plan
was used in raising the money.
The church officials for 1918 were the same, as the
previous year, other than two exceptions : E. M. O'Connell
was elected Steward replacing J. L. Godfrey then de-
ceased, and R. W. Barnes a church Trustee. The pastor's
salary for the current year was $1,200. In the first Quar-
terly Conference, held at Jonesboro February 4, a commit-
tee was appointed consisting of B. R. Avent, A. J. Sloan,
and J. R. Rives to draw up resolutions of respect to Mr.
Godfrey. At this same Quarterly Conference the min-
utes show that Jonesboro church asked permission to
build Sunday School rooms, permission granted. W. W.
Henley and E. M. O'Connell were elected delegates to
the District Conference held in Dunn, N. C, July 4-7.
T. E. Wyche's report to the same District Conference
was as follows:
"While I have not fully regained my health, I, however, have
put in a very full year's work.
Over a year ago I was appointed by the Lee County Commis-
sioners as Chaplain of the County Home, and I preach for them
every Sunday evening. In addition to this service I often fill-in
for the other Jonesboro pastors, preaching since last District Con-
ference at least seventy-five sermons."
In a meeting of the third Quarterly Conference held
June 22, 191 8, this entry is made: Obituary of A. J. Sloan
to be inserted on minutes. Mrs. R. N. McMillan, acting
The fourth Quarterly Conference held at Jonesboro,
November 18th, elected R. L. Peele, Trustee, replacing
A. J. Sloan.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. C. R. ROSS
In December, 1918, Rev. V. A. Royall was appointed
to Jonesboro circuit, but after the death of his wife, who
died suddenly at the parsonage in Jonesboro in January
1919? he exchanged with Rev. C. R. Ross and went to
Gary circuit and finished the year there. Officers of
the current year, 1919, were: Pastor, C. R. Ross; Local
Preacher, T. E. Wyche ; Superintendent of Sunday School,
J. R. Rives; Trustees: B. R. Avent, R. W. Barnes and
R. L. Peele. Stewards were: B. R. Avent, A. T. Lambeth,
J. N. Martin, E. M. O'Connell, W. L. Thomas, Sion H.
Cox, W. C. O'Connell, W. A. Godfrey and Mrs. J. D.
The second Quarterly Conference records of April 5,
1919, show the Woman's Missionary Society was organ-
ized on council lines with Mrs. J. D. Pregram, President;
Mrs. L. M. Foushee, President, Ladies Aid Society; Mrs.
C. A. Godfrey, President, Young Peoples Society; Mrs.
Mary Wyche Fitchett, President, Bright Jewel Society,
assisted by Miss Blanche Godfrey.
The Quarterly Conference minutes of 1920 show that
the church officials were the same, as of the previous year
with exception of W. L. Thomas being elected Super-
intendent of Sunday School. The pastor's salary was
$1,800. In the second Quarterly Conference held April
24, Miss Abbie McBryde was appointed to assist the
pastor in the circulation of Christian literature. Mrs. D.
B. Buchanan was elected delegate to the District Confer-
ence. The pastor reported to District Conference in June,
1920, that "the charge needs dividing so that more preach-
ing may be had ; six churches on Jonesboro circuit are too
many to have the best work done in them."
The third Quarterly Conference meeting, July 3, on
motion gave the Trustees of Jonesboro Church authority
to make any additions to the church deemed necessary.
The Stewards for 192 1 were the same as the previous
\ 44 1
year except the resignation of W. C. O'Connell ; the pastor
was authorized to fill the vacancy.
The second Quarterly Conference of April 5, appointed
Miss Bess Barnes to assist the pastor in distributing
Christian literature in the homes of this church. The
third Quarterly Conference, meeting July 5, 1921, records
show the resignation of Sion H. Cox as a Steward, W. J.
Cameron was elected to succeed him. The pastor re-
ported that the following students attended Trinity Col-
lege, the past year: Sheldon Harrington, and John D. Pe-
An interesting note by Mr. Ross is given in his report
of the spiritual state of the church in 1921: "Our great
need is more religion in the homes of the people."
THE PASTORATE OF REV. B. E. STANFIELD
The Annual Conference of November, 1921, held in
New Bern, assigned Rev. B. E. Stanfield to Jonesboro
charge. The Rev. Mr. Stanfield was a native of Leas-
burg, N. C. He was recognized as a strong preacher, a
good pastor — as an organizer he was a success, as can be
found in the records of his pastorate here. The officers
for the year 1922 were: Superintendent Sunday School,
W. L. Thomas; Church Conference Secretary, Miss Ber-
tha Avent; Trustees were B. R. Avent, R. W. Barnes,
and R. L. Peele. Stewards: B. R. Avent, Mrs. J. D. Pe-
gram, W. L. Thomas, J. N. Martin, W. A. Godfrey, A. T.
Lambeth, W. J. Cameron, W. H. Campbell, and S. B.
Worthy. Local Preacher, T. E. Wyche. At the first
Quarterly Conference of that year, W. L. Thomas, L. P.
Cox, B. R. Avent, J. A. McBryde and W. J. Cameron
were elected a building committee, to build additions to
Jonesboro Church and make needed repairs.
The second Quarterly Conference record of April 24,
shows the pastor's salary was fixed at $1,800. Miss
Bertha Avent was President of the reorganized Senior
Epworth League (the first league lived only a few years)
with a membership of 60. Mrs. L. M. Foushee, and J. L.
Covington were elected to serve as parsonage trustees.
The Sunday School was growing; eight new Sunday
School rooms were nearly complete and ready for use.
Fayetteville District Conference met with Jonesboro
Church for the fourth time in June 29-July 2, 1922. In
the third Quarterly Conference meeting July 1, the build-
ing committee submitted a report through its Chairman
and Treasurer, B. R. Avent, and J. L. Covington, secre-
tary, stating the eight new Sunday School rooms were
completed at an estimated cost of $1,284.56 with some in-
debtedness yet. The report was accepted and committee
discharged. The pastor reported that the families of the
following named persons: Dr. and Mrs. John M. Camp-
bell, Dr. A. J. Monroe, Mr. and Mrs. A. J. Sloan, George
S. Cole, Mrs. Mary F. Humber, Jesse L. Godfrey, Rev.
S. V. Hoyle, Rev. J. D. Arnold, Rev. W. B. Doub, D. B.
Robertson, Mrs. Maggie Kelly Harrington, Rev. and Mrs.
L. H. Gibbons, Rev. J. D. Pegram, Mrs. Sarah A. Chamn,
K. H. Worthy, presented art glass windows in the church
and Sunday School class room, as memorials to them.
Resolutions of respect regarding J. N. Martin, deceased
Steward, were presented by the pastor and on motion
were ordered spread upon the minutes of the Quarterly
The fourth Quarterly Conference held in Jonesboro,
October 17, records show a resolution was adopted asking
for $500 donation from Church Extension Board for
In 1923 the following church officers were reported:
Superintendent of Sunday School, C. C. Foushee; Trus-
tees, B. R. Avent, R. W. Barnes and R. L. Peele; Stew-
ards, Mrs. }. D. Pegram, B. R. Avent, W. L. Thomas,
S. B. Worthy, A. T. Lambeth, W. J. Cameron, R. H. Mann,
J. L. Covington. Local Preacher, T. E. Wyche. Presi-
dent Senior Epworth League and Church Conference
Secretary, Miss Bertha Avent. Parsonage Trustees: Mrs.
L. M. Foushee and J. L. Covington. Student attending
Louisburg College, Miss Elva Meeks. The first Quarterly
Conference which met in Jonesboro on January 20, 1923,
fixed the pastor's salary at $2,000.
For the year 1924-25 the church officers were the same
as the preceding year, with D. F. Harris elected to serve
as Steward and Assistant Sunday School Superintendent.
Miss Bess Barnes succeeded Miss Avent as President of
the Epworth League, membership 45.
In a called session of Quarterly Conference held at
Jonesboro, October 17, 1924, S. S. Ellington was granted
local preachers license. Students in Methodist schools;
Louisburg, Misses Elva Meeks, Nina McDavid and Tres-
sie Sloan; Duke University, Benjamin Lambeth and Wes-
In the first Quarterly Conference held January 25, 1924,
the minutes show the pastor's salary was $2,400, with $980
apportioned to the Jonesboro Church. Lemon Springs is
again listed on this charge. Concord discontinued.
The year 1925 markes the beginning of increased mem-
bership in the Jonesboro Sunday School; average attend-
ance 212; Assistant Superintendent W. L. Thomas. The
Woman's Missionary Society with a membership of 48
sent $148.15 to the district secretary as its pledge to mis-
sions. Paid for local church work $266.15. Jonesboro
Church paid $148.30 for the Superannuate Endowment
Fund through the local treasurer, B. E. Stanfield.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. O. I. HINSON
Rev. O. I. Hinson joined the Western North Carolina
Conference November 15, 1906. He served several
churches in that Conference. Then for two years he
taught in Missouri. In 191 5, he transferred to the North
Carolina Conference. The Annual Conference meeting
in November, 1925, assigned Rev. Hinson to Jonesboro
charge. His outstanding ability was seen as a pastor. He
loved the people that he served, and was a comfort to
the sick and shut-ins. At the beginning of this new
pastorate the Quarterly Conference records show the fol-
lowing officers: Trustees, B. R. Avent, R. L. Peele and
R. W. Barnes; Superintendent of Sunday School, C. C.
Foushee; T. E. Wyche, Local Preacher. Stewards: B. R.
Avent, Mrs. J. D. Pegram, W. L. Thomas, Sion H. Cox,
J. P. McDavid, S. B. Worthy, J. L. Covington, R. H.
Mann, and D. F. Harris. Parsonage Trustees: Mrs. L. M.
Foushee and J. L. Covington. J. L. Covington was
elected Recording Steward, Mrs. W. M. Holt, Church
Conference Secretary. Rev. L. H. Joyner, a retired min-
ister, was a member of the Quarterly Conference.
The first Quarterly Conference records of February 8,
1926, show that the Jonesboro Church was supposed to
pay $887 of the $2,400 pastor's salary promised by the
In the second Quarterly Conference which met May 1,
1926, B. R. Avent, J. P. McDavid and W. L. Thomas were
appointed a building committee for the Mecca Bible class
room, adjacent the church.
The fourth Quarterly Conference record shows the en-
tire assessments and salaries were raised in full — no defi-
cit on any item.
The Conference year beginning with November, 1926,
and ending with November, 1927 had the same officers as
the previous year for Jonesboro Church with additional
elected Stewards as follows: L. L. Thomas, R. L. Robert-
son, and A. C. Harris; Treasurer, Superannuate Endow-
ment, B. R. Avent; Director for the Golden Cross Society,
Mrs. J. P. McDavid ; President of Senior Epworth League,
Miss Vivian Avent. Students attending Methodist
schools: Louisburg College, Elizabeth Thomas; Greens-
boro College, Lucy Lambeth.
The pastor's report of October 18, 1927, shows the Mecca
Bible class room at Jonesboro was completed in this
year. The building was known as The Men's Hut.
The Woman's Missionary Society membership 50; Ep-
worth League, 20 active and 16 honorary members.
In the first Quarterly Conference, held December 17,
1928, the record shows the following church officers: Sup-
erintendent of Sunday School, C. C. Foushee; Trustees,
B. R. Avent, R. L. Peele, and R. W. Barnes; Stewards,
Mrs. J. D. Pegram, B. R. Avent, W. L. Thomas, Sion H.
Cox, S. B. Worthy, J. L. Covington, R. H. Mann, D. F.
Harris, J. P. McDavid, L. L. Thomas, W. J. Cameron, and
R. L. Robertson. D. F. Harris, Charge Lay Leader. Rev.
L. H. Joyner and T. E. Wyche, members of the Quarterly
Conference. Parsonage Trustees: Mrs. L. M. Foushee, and
J. L. Covington. President Senior League, J. L. Coving-
ton, Jr. Miss Florrie Matthews was elected Steward in
the year 1929. Assistant Superintendent of Sunday School
in 1929 was L. L. Thomas. In the second Quarterly Con-
ference, of May 5, a leave of absence for vacation of ten
days in June was granted Mr. Hinson. In the third Quar-
terly Conference of this year it was announced that Rev.
A. A. Kyles, assistant pastor, was rendering very fine help
and doing some much needed work on the Jonesboro
charge. The four years Rev. Mr. Hinson spent on this
charge were busy years, but they were filled with much
happiness and splendid fellowship.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. I. T. POOLE
The Annual Conference of October, 1929, assigned Rev.
I. T. Poole to the pastorate of Jonesboro circuit. The
pastor and his family arrived at Jonesboro on the 15th day
of November. They found upon entering the parsonage
a warmth of friendship and fellowship which continued
to grow throughout their years of service here.
The officers of the church for the current year 1930-31
were: Superintendent of Sunday School, C. C. Foushee;
Assistant Superintendent L. L. Thomas; Trustees, B. R.
Avent, R. L. Peele, and R. W. Barnes; Charge Lay Lead-
er; D. F. Harris; Church Lay Leader, J. H. Worthy;
Stewards, Mrs. J. D. Pegram, Miss Florrie Matthews, B.
R. Avent, W. L. Thomas, Sion H. Cox, S. B. Worthy,
J. L. Covington, R. H. Mann, D. F. Harris, L. L. Thomas,
R. L. Robertson and S. W. Womble. President of the
Woman's Missionary Society, Mrs. J. D. Pegram. Presi-
dent, Epworth League, Mrs. C. A. Godfrey, Rev. L. H.
Joyner, Superannuate, and Rev. T. E. Wyche, Local
Preacher were members of the Quarterly Conference. The
first Quarterly Conference held at Jonesboro, December 28,
1929, fixed the pastor's salary at $2,400. Jonesboro was
apportioned $860. In the pastor's report to the second
Quarterly Conference of April 20, 1930 the church here
had been re-plastered, and some improvements had been
made on the parsonage.
The minutes of the third Quarterly Conference of 1930
show that Mrs. J. R. Dalrymple was elected Steward re-
placing Mrs. J. D. Pegram, deceased. At this same third
Quarterly Conference, the minutes show that L. L. Thom-
as, B. R. Avent and J. L. Covington were appointed a
committee to write Resolutions of Respect for Mrs. Pe-
gram. In the fourth Quarterly Conference held Septem-
ber 20, 1930, E. M. O'Connell was elected church Trustee
replacing R. L. Peele who had moved away. L. C. Mann
was elected Steward replacing D. F. Harris, deceased.
W. L. Thomas was elected Charge Lay Leader following
Mr. Harris's death. At this Conference a committee was
appointed consisting of J. L. Covington, B. R. Avent, and
W. L. Thomas to write Resolutions of Respect for D. F.
Harris. In this same year Mrs. T. E. Wyche, vice-presi-
dent, of the Woman's Missionary Society reported a mem-
bership of 40, divided into three circles, amount sent to
the district Secretary as pledge to the Alice Green fund
$142.26. An interesting item is found in the pastor's re-
port to the fourth Quarterly Conference:
"Our Missionary Societies are functioning as usual and are
doing an outstanding work. If our men could become as much
interested in missions as our ladies who are members of our
Missionary Societies are, all the problems with which we deal
would soon be settled."
For the Conference year the officers of the church were
practically the same as for the previous year with excep-
tion that Cornelia Covington succeeded, Mrs. C. A. God-
frey, as President of the Epworth League. The first
Quarterly Conference of February 22, 1931, records show
the pastor's salary was fixed at $2,000. This decrease was
caused by the present depression which had caused a fall-
ing-ofT in contributions from the churches. Jonesboro
Church was apportioned $717. In this same Quarterly
Conference a resolution to sell Concord Church property
was duly adopted.
In the third Quarterly Conference, held August 9, Res-
olutions of Appreciation for the work of J. R. Carruth of
El Paso, Texas, student pastor for the summer was passed ;
Pastor Poole was granted two weeks' vacation.
In a meeting of the fourth Quarterly Conference held
October 30, 1931, the supply pastor, G. R. Stafford, re-
ported that the pastor was stricken with blood poisoning
in the early days of September. He had been and remains
very ill. Seeing that Rev. I. T. Poole would not be able
to complete the year's work the Presiding Elder, W. A.
Cade, secured G. R. Stafford of, the School of Religion,
Duke University, to supply the work until Annual Con-
ference. Every effort was made to bring the work to a
successful conclusion. W. L. Thomas was the elected
delegate to the Annual Conference.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. J. E. BLALOGK
Rev. J. E. Blalock was born in Albemarle, N. C, March
20, 1884. He had served several pastorates before the An-
nual Conference of November, 1931, assigned him to
Jonesboro charge, which he served 1932-34. He was a
good pastor who loved his people. His outstanding work
was the instruction of the children, and with gratifying
results. At the first Conference Mr. Blalock presided over
at Jonesboro, February 21, a motion was passed author-
izing the Trustees to deed the cemetery owned by Jones-
boro Church to the town of Jonesboro in consideration
for stipulation — in the deed that they keep same in good
condition. In this same Quarterly Conference the pastor's
salary for the current year was fixed at $2,000. The rec-
ord shows that prayer meeting attendance at this church
had averaged from twenty-four to one hundred two at
the regular weekly meetings for the quarter. The fol-
lowing officers were reported : Trustees, E. M. O'Connell,
R. W. Barnes, and B. R. Avent; Stewards, B. R. Avent,
Sion H. Cox, Miss Florrie Matthews, Mrs. J. R. Dal-
rymple, S. B. Worthy, L. C. Mann, J. L. Covington, S.
W. Womble, R. L. Robertson, L. L. Thomas, R. H. Mann,
and W. L. Thomas; Superintendent of Sunday School,
C. C. Foushee; President Woman's Missionary Society,
Mrs. L. L. Thomas; President Epworth League, Velma
O'Connell; Christian literature, Paul Eason; Superannu-
ate, Rev. L. H. Joyner.
In the second Quarterly Conference held May 28, 1932,
the pastor reported that T. E. Wyche, local preacher, was
In the pastor's report to the third Quarterly Conference
of July 9, we note this item: "We find our members
[ 53 ]
heroic and loyal through these trying days. Our congre-
gations are large and our revivals have been exceptionally
The minutes of the fourth Quarterly Conference of
1932 show that Jonesboro Auxiliary had a membership of
24; sent to Conference Treasurer $155.90, spent for par-
sonage furniture and stove $98, clothing an orphan $38.25.
For the Conference year 1933-34, W. L. Thomas had
become the Charge Lay Leader and J. L. Covington was a
church Trustee. Miss Flora Wyche had become president
of the Epworth League and Mrs. Ethel Rives had become
Director of Golden Cross. Other church officers were
the same as the previous year.
At the first Quarterly Conference held in Jonesboro
January 15, 1933, the Jonesboro Church was authorized
to proceed with the work on Sunday School rooms ac-
cording to plans to be made later.
In the second Quarterly Conference, of April 9, an-
nouncement was made that some improvement had been
made on the Jonesboro Church property by the addition
of three Sunday School rooms, on a "pay as you go" plan.
The records of the third Quarterly Conference of Au-
gust 20, 1933, show that Miss Grace Mann was a mem-
ber of the Local Church Board of Christian Education.
Rev. C. T. Thrift was the assistant pastor provided by
the Duke Foundation; under his direction Cokesbury
schools were held in which credits were awarded, Jones-
boro received 16. Some interesting notes of this same
conference were given in the pastor's report: "In view of
the bountiful crops which have been provided in this
section, and the anticipated good prices we hope to bring
up all our finances in full this fall."
The fourth Quarterly Conference minutes show that
improvement was made in the attractiveness and comfort
of Jonesboro Church auditorium by the installation of
two heatrolas and the building of outside flues. Mrs.
Belle Barnes, Secretary-Treasurer the Woman's Mission-
ary Society, reported total sent to conference treasurer on
pledge $115, to orphan $23, local church work $23.75.
The first Quarterly Conference held February 18, 1934,
seems to list some new names on the Board of Stewards:
Phil Cameron, Harnett Mann, R. R. Knight, and A. T.
Lambeth. President of the Woman's Missionary Society,
Mrs. J. K. Hunt; Superintendent of Sunday School, W. C.
Stroud; Missionary Committee, Mrs. A. T. Lambeth. In
this same Quarterly Conference L. L. Thomas, B. R.
Avent and J. L. Covington were appointed a committee
to draw up suitable resolutions for W. J. Cameron (de-
ceased). It was ordered that the resolutions be entered
on the minutes of the Conference record.
In a meeting of the third Quarterly Conference held
August 12, 1934, a committee to draw up resolutions and
present them at the next Quarterly Conference for S. B.
Worthy, deceased, were named as follows: }. L. Coving-
ton, W. C. Stroud, L. L. Thomas.
Mrs. J. K. Hunt made a report for the Missionary So-
ciety, which stated that the Society met honor roll require-
ments, increased their budget and the membership was
The pastor's report to the Fourth Quarterly Confer-
ence meeting October 21, 1934, shows all the churches
on the charge were making encouraging progress in
financial matters, about six hundred dollars ahead of their
standing at this time the previous year — expected to raise
all obligations in full this year.
In 1934, Jonesboro Woman's Missionary Society named
the Auxiliary "Belle Barnes" for its secretary-treasurer.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. J. W. BRADLEY
When Rev. J. W. Bradley came to the pastorate of the
churches on Jonesboro circuit, he succeeded his wife's
brother-in-law in carrying on the work here; he and the
previous pastor }. E. Blalock having married sisters.
Mr. Bradley was sent here by appointment of the An-
nual Conference in November, 1934. As a pastor he was
sympathetic and devoted a lot of time to visiting the sick
and shut-ins. The officers of the church during this new
pastorate were: Superintendent of Church School, W. C.
Stroud; President, Woman's Missionary Society, Mrs. J.
K. Hunt; Stewards, B. R. Avent, J. L. Covington, R. H.
Mann, R. L. Robertson, L. L. Thomas, W. L. Thomas,
Miss Florrie Matthews, Mrs. J. R. Dalrymple, Mrs. T. C.
Black, R. R. Knight, Harnett Mann, A. T. Lambeth, and
W. E. Moses; Trustees, B. R. Avent, E. M. O'Connell and
R. W. Barnes; Mrs. H. L. Stone, Director Golden Cross;
Miss Flora Wyche, Secretary, of the Board of Education.
In a meeting of the first Quarterly Conference held Jan-
uary 6, 1935, the Board of Stewards estimated $2,000 pas-
tor's salary for the current year.
The pastor's report to the second Quarterly Conference
of April 28, shows that 15 joined Jonesboro Church on
profession of faith during a revival; three were received
by letter. Mr. Bradley had made arrangements with J. M.
Ormond of Duke University to have as assistant pastor
for the summer, Rev. Ray S. Cody. In the fourth Quar-
terly Conference held October 13, 1935, the Woman's
Missionary Society report given by Mrs. Hunt shows;
members 72, amount sent to Conference treasurer $152.17.
Rating on Standard of Excellence 1. The pastor's salary
was reported as paid in full.
The first Quarterly Conference minutes of January 29,
1936, show that L. L. Thomas was elected Superintendent
of Church School. General officers of the Church Board
of Christian Education were: Chairman, L. L. Thomas;
Secretary, A. Paul Rosser; Superintendent Adult Di-
vision, Mrs. J. W. Bradley; Young Peoples Division,
Louise Covington; Superintendent Children's Division,
Mrs. C. A. Godfrey; Treasurer, R. H. Mann. At
this same first Quarterly Conference the minutes show
that the pastor's salary was decreased from $2,000 to $1,600
now that the charge consists of Jonesboro, Lemon Springs,
and Poplar Springs. Jonesboro Church was apportioned
$900, Lemon Springs $350, Poplar Springs $350. Jones-
boro Church was the only church on the charge that un-
dertook to make regular monthly payments through the
year using the budget system. In the second Quarterly
Conference, held April 12, 1936, the Church School at
Jonesboro was making splendid progress, having an aver-
age attendance of 200.
Mrs. Hunt's report to the fourth Quarterly Conference
shows $174.25 sent to Conference Treasurer; $79.10 spent
for local work. Paid preacher in charge $1725, for the
THE PASTORATE OF REV. P. H. FIELDS
The Annual Conference which met in New Bern, No-
vember, 1936, assigned Rev. P. H. Fields to the Jones-
boro charge. He was a good worker in church activities.
By his friendliness and geniality he won many friends
here. The Quarterly Conference roll for the Conference
year 1936-37 were: Sunday School Superintendent, L. L.
Thomas; Chairman, Board of Christian Education, H. L.
Stone; President, Young People's Department, Katherine
Patton; President Woman's Missionary Society, Mrs.
J. R. Dalrymple; Director of Golden Cross, Miss Mayme
Gibbons ; Assistant Superintendent of Children's Division,
Mrs. C. A. Godfrey; Superannuate, L. H. Joyner.
Church Trustees: B. R. Avent, R. W. Barnes, and E. M.
O'Connell. Stewards: B. R. Avent, J. L. Covington, R. H.
Mann, R. L. Robertson, L. L. Thomas, W. L. Thomas,
R. R. Knight, L. C. Mann, T. A. Hartley, T. C. Riddle,
Mrs. J. R. Dalrymple, Mrs. T. C. Black, Miss Florrie
Matthews and A. T. Lambeth, honorary.
In the meeting of the first Quarterly Conference, held
January 3, 1937, the pastor, Rev. Mr. Fields, reported new
officers and committees had been elected for the year and
installed at the regular preaching service. The same
quarterly conference increased the pastor's salary. Jones-
boro congregation was apportioned $1,000 of the total
In the pastor's report to the second Quarterly Confer-
ence of April 19, a revival had been held at Jonesboro
April 17-28, 14 received on profession of faith, 21 by letter.
Mrs. Dalrymple's report to the fourth Quarterly Confer-
ence of 1937 shows members enrolled 72, $185.55 sent to
the Conference Treasurer, $86.50 spent for local church
work. At the same conference announcement was made
of the recently organized Jonesboro circuit Young People's
Union made up of the young people of the three churches.
The minutes of the first Quarterly Conference held at
Jonesboro, December 26, 1937, show the following church
officers for the Jonesboro Church: Pastor, P. H. Fields;
Trustees, B. R. Avent, E. M. O'Connell and R. W. Barnes;
Stewards, R. R. Knight, W. L. Thomas, L. L. Thomas,
R. H. Mann, L. P. Cox, R. L. Robertson, T. C. Riddle,
J. L. Covington, B. R. Avent, and John D. Pegram; Sup-
erintendent of Church School, L. L. Thomas; Church
School Board of Education: L. L. Thomas, H. L. Stone,
Mrs. C. H. Campbell, Mrs. C. A. Godfrey; President
Young People's Department, Russell Mann ; Golden Cross,
Mrs. H. L. Stone; Missionary Committee, Mrs. L. L.
Thomas; Superannuates, L. H. Joyner, and L. M. Chaffin.
The pastor's salary was estimated as $1,900 for the cur-
rent year; Jonesboro Church was apportioned $1,100 at
this same first Quarterly Conference.
At the second Quarterly Conference, held March 20,
B. R. Avent and L. L. Thomas were appointed to confer
with a committee from Broadway, with reference to as-
sisting them in building a parsonage, and report back to
the next Conference.
In the fourth Quarterly Conference, held November 1,
1938, the pastor reported that the church at Jonesboro
had just completed putting down red carpet in the audi-
torium at a cost of $400, largely raised through the efforts
of Mrs. R. R. Knight.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. DWIGHT L. FOUTS
Rev. Dwight L. Fouts came to Jonesboro charge in No-
vember, 1938, by appointment of the Annual Conference.
This pastorate lasted for four years. The Rev. Mr. Fouts
was a devout, consecrated pastor and preacher, and was
highly esteemed in the communities where he had served.
At the first Conference Mr. Fouts presided over at
Jonesboro, February 26, 1939, he announced that the
young people were quite active at Jonesboro Church. The
official roll of Quarterly Conference members in this year
were: Superannuates, L. H. Joyner and L. M. Chaffin;
Sunday School Superintendent, L. L. Thomas; Secretary
Quarterly Conference, J. D. Pegram; Church Trustees,
B. R. Avent, E. M. O'Connell and R. W. Barnes; Stew-
ards, L. P. Cox, chairman, R. R. Knight, B. R. Avent,
E. M. O'Connell, R. L. Robertson, J. L. Covington, L. L.
Thomas, T. C. Riddle, W. L. Thomas, L. C. Mann, J. D.
Pegram, Paul Rosser, Ray W. Barnes, and R. H. Mann,
Jr.; President Woman's Missionary Society, Mrs. H. L.
Stone; President Young People's Department, Lucille
Wilson; Young People's Representative, Margaret Kelly;
Chairman, Missionary Committee, Mrs. L. L. Thomas;
Chairman Board Christian Education, L. L. Thomas;
Superintendent of Adult Division, H. L. Stone; Super-
intendent Young People's Division, Mrs. C. H. Campbell;
Superintendent of Children's Division, Mrs. C. A. God-
frey; Director of Golden Cross, Miss Amey Womble.
The pastor's salary for the current year was $2,000, with
Si, 1 60 apportioned to Jonesboro Church. At this same
first Conference the Jonesboro Stewards announced defi-
nite plans for repairs and improvements at the parsonage.
Mr. Fouts reported that three ladies classes of the Church
School at Jonesboro had installed a new electric range in
the parsonage. Mrs. R. R. Knight served as chairman of
The second Quarterly Conference Secretary announced
the "Budget System" had again been adopted by the
Stewards. The pastor reported n new church members
received following a ten-day series of pre-Easter services
conducted at Jonesboro by Rev. C. W. Goldston of Red
Oak, N. C. Announcement was made that the Young
People's Union had been expanded into Lee County
Young People's Union. The following improvements
had been made at the parsonage — roof painted, bath-
room built upstairs, fully equipped.
Minutes of the fourth Quarterly Conference held Oc-
tober 18, 1939, show that the Epworth League of the
Young People's Division had begun the new year with
renewed life, under the leadership of Miss Hazel Cope-
land, Adult Advisor. Mrs. Stone reported the Missionary
Society met the council requirements for the standard of
excellence, 72 members enrolled, amount sent to Confer-
ence Treasurer $187.60, amount spent for local church
work $190.75. Announcement was made in this same
fourth Quarterly Conference that R. R. Knight was elect-
ed delegate to the Annual Conference, L. P. Cox was
elected alternate. Mr. Knight was to represent this church
in the new conference following the merger of the An-
nal Conferences. This ends the activities of the Jones-
boro Church as a Methodist Episcopal Church, South.
From this time on it is simply a Methodist Church.
For the year 1940 the Quarterly Conference roll of
members shows that Emma Grace Knight succeeded
Lucille Wilson as president of Young People's Depart-
ment. In October, Eddie W. Cox was elected Young
People's Leader. S. T. Cox was elected Steward, to fill
the vacancy created when A. Paul Rosser moved away.
The last Annual Conference placed Poplar Springs on
circuit with Broadway; the Jonesboro Charge being com-
posed of two churches — Jonesboro and Lemon Springs.
In the first Quarterly Conference of this year the pastor's
salary was fixed at $2,000, Jonesboro apportioned $1,580.
The minutes of the second Quarterly Conference held
March 10, 1940, show that W. L. Thomas, was elected
Trustee replacing E. M. O'Connell, deceased. Also a
committee was appointed for adjusting equity of Jones-
boro and Broadway parsonage: Hugh A. Palmer, Dr. M.
L. Matthews, and F. Y. Hanner of Sanford. The pastor
reported to this conference that Miss Mayme Gibbons'
Bible Class had new brick steps built to the front of the
church at a total cost of $162.90. The records show that
Miss Thelma Harrington, Treasurer, reported material
donated for the steps by interested persons amounted to
$59.60. Church school was growing in attendance and
effectiveness — 300 mark was reached at Jonesboro. Stu-
dents attending church schools were : Mary John Thomas,
Maude Von Canon, Hollis Nell Cox, Greensboro College;
Lora Foy Caddell, Dan Bright Robertson, Louisburg Col-
lege; Howard Louis Cox and Claude Chaffin, Duke Uni-
In the last Annual Conference of the Woman's Mis-
sionary Societies there was a merger of the Women's
Work; henceforth it is the Woman's Society of Christian
Service. The permanent records of the Woman's So-
ciety of Christian Service of Jonesboro Church show it
was organized September 16, 1940, by Dwight L. Fouts,
Officers October, 1940-December, 1941
President Mrs. L. L. Thomas
Vice-President Mrs. T. C. Black
Recording Secretary Mrs. E. L. Watson
Corresponding Secretary-Treasurer Mrs. C. F. Malloy
Secretary of Missionary
Education and Service Mrs. Dwight L. Fouts
Secretary of Christian Social Relations
and Local Church Activities Mrs. W. L. Thomas
Secretary of Literature and Publications. Mrs. J. H. Worthy
Secretary of Supplies Mrs. Minnie Makepeace
Secretary of Student Work Mrs. R. L. Robertson
Secretary of Children's Work Mrs. C. A. Godfrey
Secretary Baby Specials Mrs. J. L. Covington
Counselor of Young People Miss Hazel Copeland
With the officers, the following were charter members: Mrs.
Hugh L. Stone, Mrs. A. R. Rives, Miss Mayme Gibbons, Miss
Nell Gibbs, Mrs. Elizabeth Gibbons Sasser, Mrs. J. N. Martin,
Mrs. H. B. Bowman, Mrs. W. G. Temple, Mrs. T. A. Hartley,
Mrs. A. A. Sloan, Miss Mell McDavid, Mrs. E. M. O'Connell,
Mrs. Lura O'Connell, Mrs. Claudia Matthews, Mrs. S. T. Cox,
Mrs. Carrie Womble, Mrs. W. C. Stone, Mrs. A. A. Lowe, Mrs.
C. B. Carter, Mrs. B. A. Osborne, Miss Gladys Brown, Mrs. E. F.
O'Connell, Mrs. C. H. Campbell, Mrs. R. H. Mann, Mrs. C. B.
Patton, Mrs. S. E. Buchanan, Mrs. Chas. Trebuchon, Mrs. Carr
Buchanan, Miss Eliza H. Rives, Mrs. Eliza M. Harris, Mrs. W. E.
Moses, Mrs. J. A. White, Miss Mamie Thomas, Mrs. C. H. Von
Canon, Mrs. Vann O'Connell, Mrs. Chas. C. Foushee, Miss Mary
E. Dew, Mrs. D. M. Dew, Mrs. C. P. Smith, Mrs. Matie Adams
Clark, Miss Flora Wyche, Mrs. J. R. Dalrymple, Miss Eula Mat-
thews, Mrs. T. C. Riddle, Mrs. L. P. Cox, Mrs. B. R. Avent, Jr.,
Mrs. Eugene Gibson, Mrs. H. L. Caddell, Miss Bess Barnes, Miss
Vivian Avent, Miss Cornelia Avent, Miss Sarah Godfrey, Miss
Myra Godfrey, Mrs. T. D. Meeks, Mrs. L. H. Joyner, Mrs. J. M.
Lloyd (Ruth Porter), Mrs. T. E. Wyche, Miss Edythe Wyche,
r 63 1
Mrs. Dion Hunt, Miss Amey Womble, Mrs. Maude McBryde,
Mrs. J. K. Hunt, Miss Gladys Carter, Mrs. Sion H. Cox, Mrs.
Marvin P. Campbell, Miss Thelma Harrington, Miss Eunice Har-
rington, Mrs. A. T. Lambeth, Mrs. Mary E. Thomas, Miss Flor-
rie Matthews, Mrs. Wilma Saunders, Mrs. Harnett Mann, Miss
Grace Mann, Mrs. James Yarborough, Mrs. Heber W. Windley,
Miss Cornelia Atkins, Mrs. Harold Jordan, Mrs. Evander True-
love, Mrs. J. P. McDavid, Mrs. L. M. Chaffin.
Mrs. Stone reported to the Quarterly Conference held
October 31, 1940, that $214 had been sent to Conference
Treasurer, $149.60 spent for local church work.
For the Conference year 1941-42, the officers of the
church were: Trustees, B. R. Avent, R. W. Barnes and
W. L. Thomas; Parsonage Trustees, L. P. Cox and L. L.
Thomas; Stewards, B. R. Avent, L. P. Cox, B. R. Avent,
Jr., R. W. Barnes, Seth T. Cox, J. L. Covington, Miss
Margaret Kelly, Zeb Harrington, Raymond Mann, Jr.,
Miss Florrie Matthews, John D. Pegram, L. L. Thomas,
W. L. Thomas, T. C. Riddle, R. L. Robertson, Miss Katie
Rosser, S. W. Womble, Jr.; President Woman's Society of
Christian Service, Mrs. L. L. Thomas; President Young
People, Joe H. Mann; Superintendent Church School, L.
L. Thomas; Golden Cross, Miss Amey Womble; Music,
Mrs. C. A. Godfrey, Mr. and Mrs. W. L. Thomas; Church
Board of Education, W. L. Thomas, L. P. Cox, B. R.
Avent, Miss Thelma Harrington and W. F. Veasey;
Church Board of Missions and Church Extension, D. M
Dew and W. L. Thomas.
In February 1941 the Woman's Society of Christian
Service gave a Communion Table made of walnut to the
church. The table was made by W. L. Thomas, one of
In the second Quarterly Conference held April 6, 1941,
James Claude Charnn was recommended to the District
Conference for license to preach — license granted.
On April 6, 1941, the Wesley Workers Bible Class had
an indirect lighting system installed in the church. Messrs.
Homer Mclver and Doyle McFarland, owners of Macks'
5 & 10 Stores, Sanford, N. C, donated the fixtures.
In the pastor's report to the Quarterly Conference held
October 26, 1941, is the following item: "One thing that
has greatly helped the Jonesboro Church has been the or-
ganization of a vested choir under the direction of Mrs.
W. H. White (Eloise Bass), of Sanford. The new choir
made its first appearance on the third Sunday in October.
The people are delighted with it. We now have twenty-
two voices." Mrs. Thomas made an annual report to this
same fourth Quarterly Conference, members 112, total
offerings to missions $247.46, local church activities
Mr. Fouts, reported to the second Quarterly Conference
meeting April 19, 1942, that the the young people of
Jonesboro held what they called — "Youth Week-End,"
in February. This seemed to be an innovation in youth
work. The idea originated with Miss Hazel Copeland,
counselor for the young people. The theme was : "Youth
Facing the Future." The program began with a banquet
on Friday evening at the home of the L. P. Cox's and
closed with a consecration and Communion Service on
Sunday afternoon at the church. Three officers of the
North Carolina Conference Youth Fellowship assisted in
the observance. They were: Miss Kitty Wilson of Greens-
boro College, Harris Proctor and Max Warren of Duke
The third Quarterly Conference records of July 19,
1942, show the following improvements made to the
Jonesboro Church — new cords and screens in the win-
dows; the third floor of the Church School building
painted, a gift by Mrs. J. D. Pegram, and B. R. Avent.
New offering plates for the church, a gift by the Wesley
Workers Bible Class, Mrs. L. P. Cox, President.
At the fourth Quarterly Conference, L. L. Thomas re-
ported an average Church School attendance of 211 for
the year. Mrs. Thomas reported total offerings for mis-
sions in 1942 was $283.50. Local work $244.71. The
pastor's annual report shows 18 were received on profes-
sion of faith, 12 baptised, total membership of this church,
The Trustee's annual report to the Quarterly Confer-
ence of October 25, 1942 shows parsonage equity of Broad-
way charge was $500.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. L. L. PARRISH
The Annual Conference of 1942 assigned Rev. Leslie L.
Parrish to Jonesboro charge, where he served three years.
He was a man of stern and positive character and a good
preacher. Rev. Mr. Parrish found the church well or-
ganized for carrying on the different phases of work. At
the beginning of this pastorate the Quarterly Conference
records show the following members on the roll for the
Conference year 1942-43: Trustees, B. R. Avent, R. W.
Barnes and W. L. Thomas; Superintendent of church
school, L. L. Thomas; Stewards, B. R. Avent, B. R. Avent,
Jr., R. W. Barnes, L. P. Cox, S. T. Cox, J. L. Covington,
Miss Margaret E. Kelly, Zeb Harrington, J. B. Lipscomb,
R. H. Mann, Jr., C. B. Patton, J. D. Pegram, T. C. Riddle,
R. L. Robertson, L. L. Thomas, W. L. Thomas, W. F.
Veasey, Mrs. C. H. Von Canon, Sam W. Womble, Jr.;
Parsonage Trustees, L. P. Cox and L. L. Thomas; Presi-
dent Woman's Society of Christian Service, Mrs. L. L.
Thomas; President Youth Organization, Ruth Coving-
ton; Golden Cross, Miss Amey Womble. Janice Tre-
buchon, Youth representative. Retired minister, L. H.
Joyner; Literature, J. H. Worthy; Church Board of Edu-
cation, W. F. Veasey, W. L. Thomas, B. R. Avent, Mr.
and Mrs. J. D. Pegram; Church Board of Missions and
Church Extension, D. M. Dew; Music, Mrs. C. A. God-
frey, W. L. Thomas, Mrs. L. P. Cox and Mrs. J. D. Pe-
Woman's Society of Christian Service officers 1943-44:
President, Mrs. L. P. Cox; Vice-President, Mrs. Dion
Hunt; Recording Secretary, Mrs. E. L. Watson; Corre-
sponding Secretary-Treasurer, Mrs. C. F. Malloy; Secre-
tary of Missionary Education and Service, Mrs. L. L.
Thomas; Secretary of Christian Social Relations and Lo-
cal Church Activities, Mrs. R. L. Robertson; Secretary
of Literature and Publications, Mrs. Vann O'Connell;
Secretary of Supplies, Mrs. Minnie Makepeace; Secretary
of Student Work, Mrs. T. C. Black; Secretary of Chil-
dren's Work, Mrs. C. A. Godfrey; Secretary of Spiritual
Life, Mrs. L. L. Parrish; Secretary of Young Women and
Girls Work, Mrs. H. J. Sink; Circle Leaders, Miss Bess
Barnes, Mrs. Eugene Gibson, Mrs. S. T. Cox, Mrs. W. E.
Moses, Mrs. E. F. O'Connell, Miss Sarah Godfrey, Mrs.
W. I. Garris.
The Woman's Society of Christian Service sponsored a
tea in March, 1943, at the parsonage in celebration of the
silver wedding anniversary of the Rev. Leslie L. Parrish,
pastor of the church, and Mrs. Parrish. Guests were
members of Jonesboro and Lemon Springs churches, and
other friends of the couple in the community.
In reviewing the records of the Society in the first three
months of 1943 it is soon discovered that Jonesboro
Woman's Society was loyal in support of temperance. A
very important step was taken when a petition was sent
to the local town board asking that beer not be sold in
town from mid-night Saturday until mid-night Sunday.
A petition was also sent to the Legislature asking that the
sale of whiskey and wine be abolished.
The society cooperated with the war committee of the
Parent-Teacher Association of the local school in a drive
to collect books that were sent to the "Soldier Center."
Many of its members worked at the Red Cross room mak-
ing bandages and taking the home nursing course. Total
membership 108, offering for missions 1943, $256.99.
Mr. Parrish's report to the Quarterly Conference held
November 28, 1943, shows the Jonesboro Church was in
the process of repairing and painting. $1,000 had been
raised for this purpose. Students attending Greensboro
College, Mary Leslie Robertson, Amelia Rives.
Mrs. Cox's report to this same Conference shows a com-
mittee from each church in town, Methodist, Baptist,
Presbyterian, and Shallow Well Christian, worked to-
gether in editing the "Jonesboro Journal" which contained
church news and social happenings of the community,
which were mailed to the men and women in the service
of our country and to the students in college.
In this year, 1943, Jonesboro Church cooperated with
the other denominations in town in raising funds to hire
a Bible teacher to teach Bible in the local school. This
church was apportioned $100 which it raised.
In 1944-45, me church officers were practically the same
as at the beginning of this pastorate except H. J. Sink had
been elected Steward replacing R. W. Barnes, deceased.
Catherine Buchanan was President of Youth Fellowship
and L. P. Cox had become a church Trustee. In the list
we find these additional names: Stewards, A. B. Harring-
ton, Jr., L. G. Avery, Harnett Mann and G. Brantley
Myers. Church Board of Missions and Church Extension,
H. J. Sink and B. R. Avent. Church Board of Education,
W. F. Veasey, Mrs. J. D. Pegram. Collectors: L. P. Cox,
S. T. Cox, R. L. Robertson, C. B. Patton. Ushers: J. L.
Covington, J. H. Worthy, W. F. Veasey.
In 1944, the Stewards announced that the tentative
budget for the year was $3,579.85. The pastor's salary was
$2,600. The records show Jonesboro Church paid $2,100,
of the assessment.
The Baptismal font was given to the church by the Cox
family in memory of their parents, Mr. and Mrs. Sion H.
On June 18, 1944, Rev. Mr. Parrish baptised Benjamin
Rush Avent III, using the new font. He was the first in-
fant baptised after the font was installed.
On Sunday, September 24, 1944, the pastor made the
following anonuncement to the congregation:
"The new stars appearing on our Service Banner this morning
are honoring the following young men who have recently gone
into the armed forces: Edward Wilton Cox, }. T. Cox, Jr., J.
Ordra Doby, Malcolm Jackson, J. Elbert O'Connell, Marvin
Thomas, and John Henry Worthy."
In this same year the Woman's Society of Christian
Service with a membership of 114 contributed $297.00 to
The annual report given by Mr. Thomas shows total
enrollment of Church School 338, average attendance 175,
amount raised $505.00.
The church Treasurer's annual report November, 1943,
to November 1, 1944, shows the total receipts $6,481.08,
total disbursed $5,418.22.
Mr. Parrish reported the membership of Jonesboro
Church in 1944 was 517.
In the first Quarterly Conference which met December
10, 1944, the pastor stated that in December the church at
Jonesboro suffered a small loss in the fire which took place
during the morning worship.
The pastor made the following announcement to the
second Quarterly Conference, held March 18, 1945. "To
our great sorrow, we have lost five of our young men
who were in the armed forces. They were members of
Jonesboro and Lemon Springs respectfully."
The minutes of the fourth Quarterly Conference, held
October 16, 1945, show that the Board of Trustees were
authorized to accept a conditional donation from the
Duke Endowment not exceeding $2,000.00 for the pur-
pose of remodeling interior of the church.
Mr. Thomas, Superintendent of the Sunday School, re-
ported that 38 Church School pupils joined the church in
this same year, the total enrollment was 370, average at-
At the close of this year Mr. Parrish reported that the
Jonesboro Church raised its quota for the "Crusade for
Officers of the Woman's Society of Christian Service in
1945 were: President, Mrs. L. P. Cox; Vice-President, Miss
Bess Barnes; Recording Secretary, Mrs. E. L. Watson; Cor-
responding Secretary-Treasurer, Mrs. A. R. Rives; Secre-
retary of Missionary Education, Mrs. L. L. Thomas ; Secre-
tary of Christian Social Relations and LCA, Mrs. C. B.
Patton; Secretary of Literature and Publications, Miss
Margaret E. Kelly; Secretary of Supplies, Mrs. J. A.
White; Secretary of Student Work, Mrs. T. C. Black;
Secretary of Children's Work, Mrs. C. A. Godfrey; Secre-
tary of Youth Work, Mrs. H. L. Caddell; Secretary of
Spiritual Life, Mrs. L. L. Parrish. Circle Leaders were:
Mrs. R. H. Mann, Mrs. Eugene Gibson, Mrs. S. T. Cox,
Mrs. W. I. Garris, Mrs. A. B. Harrington, Jr., Miss Sarah
THE PASTORATE OF REV. C. P. WOMACK
The Annual Conference meeting in Goldsboro, in
1945, sent Rev. L. L. Parrish to Jacksonville and sent the
Rev. C. P. Womack to Jonesboro. Mr. Womack was a
native of Arkansas. He was a good preacher ; he was posi-
tive and preached with power.
For the Conference year of 1945-46 the following were
officers: Trustees, B. R. Avent, L. P. Cox, C. B. Patton,
L. L. Thomas and W. L. Thomas. The Stewards were:
B. R. Avent, B. R. Avent, Jr., L. P. Cox, E. Surles Cox,
S. T. Cox, J. L. Covington, J. B. Lipscomb, J. D. Pegram,
Zeb Harrington, A. B. Harrington, Jr., Harnett Mann,
Herbert L. Mann, G. B. Myers, C. B. Patton, T. C. Riddle,
R. L. Robertson, L. L. Thomas, and W. L. Thomas. Pres-
ident Youth Fellowship, Jean Lloyd; Church Board of
Education: L. L. Thomas, Mrs. J. D. Pegram, Miss Bess
Barnes; Church Board of Missions and Church Extension:
Mrs. C. A. Godfrey and Mrs. L. P. Cox; Sunday School
Superintendent, J. B. Lipscomb.
Officers of the Woman's Society of Christian Service for
1946 are the same as of the previous year, except, we find
that Mrs. Duncan Cox had become the Recording Secre-
tary and Mrs. S. G. Harrington was Secretary of Litera-
ture and Publications. Mrs. C. P. Womack had become
Secretary of Spiritual Life, and Mrs. Glenn Matthews
Leader for Circle No. 6.
The Wesleyan Service Guild of the church was or-
ganized by Mrs. L. P. Cox in the early spring of 1946.
Six business women met one morning in the church fol-
lowing Church School and the six composed the charter
members. They were Miss Sarah Godfrey, Mrs. J. D.
Pegram, Miss Mary Jon Thomas, Miss Edythe Wyche,
Miss Ruth Martin, Miss Flora Wyche. Miss Godfrey was
elected President and Mrs. Pegram was Corresponding
In the list for the Conference year 1946-47 are the
names of two newly elected Stewards. These are: A.
Paul Rosser and Samuel W. Womble, Jr.
Student attending Methodist School: Greenboro Col-
lege, Miss Norma Cox.
One outstanding feature of Mr. Womack's first year in
Jonesboro included a comprehensive program of renova-
tion and redecoration of the Jonesboro sanctuary. How-
ever, the work was not started as early in the year as had
been expected. One of the things that held up the reno-
vating of the sanctuary was the difficulty of the member-
ship in agreeing on whether to renovate or build a new
church on the same site. In the meeting of the member-
ship to decide the issue, the pastor explained the pro-
cedure of voting for a new church, also for renovating.
A motion was made by E. S. Cox that we build a new
church building. An amendment was made by Mrs. L. P.
Cox that we either build or renovate as seems best. The
vote on the amendment to renovate was yes, ioo; no, 40.
The vote on the original motion to build a new church
house was defeated. A motion was made by J. B. Lips-
comb that the pastor and Board of Stewards appoint a
building committee and begin at once. The following
building committee was appointed: J. D. Pegram, Mrs.
L. L. Thomas, Miss Sarah Godfrey, W. L. Thomas, Miss
Bess Barnes and L. P. Cox.
The building committee employed as architect Charles
Benton of Wilson, N. C, of the firm Benton and Son.
A renovating plan designed by Mr. Benton was adopt-
ed. After Mr. Benton had made his first sketches, the
membership of the church was invited to go over the
plans with the building committee. Renovating to be
supervised by L. P. Cox Co.
There seems to be nothing in the records to indicate
just when the changes made in the sanctuary were start-
ed; however, in the Quarterly Conference, held October
1, 1946, the Treasurer reported that $741.23 had been
spent on the sanctuary.
In October, 1946, the Woman's Society of Christian
Service paid $500.00 to the church Treasurer to be applied
on the remodeling debt.
The Treasurer's report shows that the congregation was
systematic in contributing to the building fund during
In the meeting of the fourth Quarterly Conference, held
October 7, 1947, the Church School Superintendent, J.
B. Lipscomb, reported a total enrollment of 379, average
attendance 202. Mr. Lipscomb stated that the attendance
should be better but there was hardly room to accommo-
date those now attending, and that additional Sunday
School rooms were needed to meet the crowded condi-
Officers of the Woman's Society of Christian Service for
1947: President, Miss Bess Barnes; Vice-President, Mrs.
L. P. Cox; Recording Secretary, Mrs. B. J. Mann;
Corresponding Secretary-Treasurer, Mrs. A. R. Rives;
Secretary Missionary Education, Mrs. B. R. Avent, Jr.;
Secretary Christian Social Relations and L. C. A., Mrs.
W. R. Hartness, Jr. ; Secretary Literature and Publications,
Mrs. B. J. Mann; Secretary of Supplies, Mrs. J. A. White;
Secretary of Student Work, Mrs. T. C. Black; Secretary
of Children's Work, Mrs. C. P. Womack; Secretary of
Youth Work, Mrs. Glenn Matthews; Secretary Spiritual
Life, Mrs. W. E. Moses. Circle Leaders: Mrs. R. H.
Mann, Mrs. L. L. Thomas, Mrs. C. B. Patton, Mrs. W. I.
Garris, Mrs. Hugh Hunter, Mrs. Frontis Wilson. Wes-
leyan Service Guild: President, Miss Flora Wyche; Vice-
President, Miss Vivian Avent; Treasurer, Mrs. J. D. Pe-
Gifts to the Church
Gifts to the church in 1947 were: the beautiful altar, by
Mrs. Thomas Woodrow Yarborough (Hollis Nell Cox),
Misses Mary and Ruth McPhail, in memory of Thomas
Woodrow Yarborough ; alter cross in honor of Virginia E.
Cox, by her parents, Mr. and Mrs. E. S. Cox; altar candle
holders in memory of Mr. and Mrs. W. A. Godfrey, by
their children; altar vases, by Mrs. Glenn Matthews' cir-
cle; Hammond Organ, by R. H. Mann and family, in
memory of Joe Mann; the pulpit, by J. T. Mallard, in
memory of Mrs. Minnie C. Mallard ; the pulpit Bible pre-
sented in honor of Rev. and Mrs. L. H. Joyner, by their
children; Sallman's Head of Christ, a memorial to Carrie
Bell Buchanan Thomas, by her husband and children;
carpet and church pews, by B. R. Avent and family and
L. L. Thomas and family.
Bronze plaques, placed in the sanctuary, will signify
Following the installation of the Hammond Organ an
organ recital was held in July, 1947, with Rev. C. P.
Womack in charge.
As a part of the service special organ selections were
rendered by the guest organist, Mr. Lyman Seymour of
Durham, son of Mrs. T. Y. Seymour and the late Rev.
The first time that our Hammond Organ was used for
a wedding ceremony was on September 18, 1947, when
the Rev. C. P. Womack officiated at the double wedding
ceremony of Miss Dorothy Dalrymple to John Snipes,
and Miss Mary Jon Thomas to Glenn Chandler.
The pastor's report to the fourth Quarterly Conference
October 7, 1947, shows that the total membership of Jones-
boro Church was 539. In this same Quarterly Conference
Mr. Womack reported the sanctuary completed and fur-
nished with special gifts.
This year, 1947, ushered in a new era for the town
which received its original charter in 1872. There was a
merger of the two towns — Jonesboro and Sanford on July
1, 1947. Jonesboro was given an additional name
"Heights." It is now Jonesboro Heights, Sanford.
At a meeting of the Quarterly Conference October 7,
1947, it was voted that the Jonesboro Church, retain the
name, The Jonesboro Methodist Church.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. B. F. BOONE
The Annual Conference, meeting in the First Methodist
Church in Elizabeth City, November 5-9, 1947, assigned
Rev. B. F. Boone to the pastorate of Jonesboro charge,
succeeding Rev. C. P. Womack who was sent to Roxboro.
Mr. Boone's pastorate in Jonesboro lasted for one year.
But his jolly disposition made him very popular and the
sick and shut-ins looked forward to his visits.
Some items in the budget for the Conference year 1947-
48 are: Pastor's salary $2,460 (total for charge $3,200);
World Service and Benevolence $336; Orphanage $318.56;
The Methodist College Advance $152; total budget
In the Conference year the officers of the church were
practically the same as of the previous year except that
Lillie Beth Von Canon succeeded Jean Lloyd as President
of the Youth Fellowship, and O. A. Zachary was elected
In the second Quarterly Conference, held February 29,
1948, the pastor reported that the members of Jonesboro
Church had made definite plans to raise the amount of
money needed to build an Educational building.
In the fourth Quarterly Conference of that year J. B.
Lipscomb, Superintendent of Sunday School reported an
enrollment for the year of 391. He also stated that the
Sunday School donated $500 to the Educational Building
Fund from its Treasury.
THE PASTORATE OF REV. T. M. VIGK, JR.
The Annual Conference of 1948 sent Rev. B. F. Boone
to St. Pauls and sent Rev. T. M. Vick, Jr., who had been
serving at Bahama, to Jonesboro. The Rev. Mr. Vick
was a native of Crisco, Texas. He was the first of Texas'
native sons to be appointed pastor of the Jonesboro
Church. He was a good pastor and preacher.
In the list of officers of the church for the Conference
year 1948-49 we find these names: Superintendent of
Sunday School, J. B. Lipscomb; Trustees, B. R. Avent,
L. P. Cox, W. L. Thomas and L. L. Thomas; Stewards,
L. L. Thomas, Chairman, J. D. Pegram, L. P. Cox, J. B.
Lipscomb, B. R. Avent, B. R. Avent, Jr., C. N. Castle-
berry, Surles Cox, S. T. Cox, J. L. Covington, Zeb Har-
rington, Harnett Mann, Herbert Mann, G. B. Myers, C.
B. Patton, T. C. Riddle, A. B. Harrington, Jr., R. L. Rob-
ertson, Paul Rosser, W. L. Thomas, Mrs. L. L. Thomas,
Sam Womble, Jr.; Church Board of Education, J. B. Lips-
comb, Mrs. C. A. Godfrey, Miss Bess Barnes; Church
Board of Missions, Mrs. C. A. Godfrey, Miss Bess Barnes,
Mrs. T. C. Black; President Youth Fellowship, Lillie
Beth Von Canon.
Officers of the Woman's Society of Christian Ser-
vice for 1948-49 were: President, Miss Bess Barnes;
Vice-President, Mrs. L. P. Cox; Recording Secretary,
Mrs. W. L. Bishop; Corresponding Secretary, Mrs.
S. T. Cox; Treasurer, Mrs. J. L. Covington; Secretary
of Missionary Education, Mrs. B. J. Mann; Secretary
of Christian Social Relations and Local Church Activi-
ties, Mrs. A. R. Rives; Secretary of Literature and
Publications, Mrs. Russell Mann; Secretary of Supplies,
Mrs. J. A. White; Secretary of Student Work, Miss
Amey Womble; Secretary of Children's Work, Mrs. T.
C. Black; Secretary of Youth Work, Mrs. Glenn Mat-
thews; Secretary of Spiritual Life, Mrs. W. E. Moses;
Secretary of Status of Women, Mrs. Dion Hunt. Circle
Leaders were: Mrs. C. B. Patton, Miss Mell McDavid,
Mrs. L. L. Thomas, Mrs. Duncan Cox, Mrs. W. L. Bishop,
Mrs. Hugh Hunter, Mrs. Arnold Kessler. Wesleyan
Service Guild Officers were: President, Miss Flora Wyche;
Treasurer, Mrs. J. D. Pegram. May 1949-May 1950, Miss
Frances Buchanan, President, Wesleyan Service Guild.
In the meeting of the first Quarterly Conference, held
December 26, 1948, permission was granted Jonesboro
Church to build an Educational Building on the site of
the present church lot. The pastor's salary for the current
Conference year was fixed at $3,200. Jonesboro was ap-
portioned $2,460, Lemon Springs $740.
The Community Choral Club was organized at the
church, in 1949, by the Rev. T. Marvin Vick, Jr. The fol-
lowing officers were elected: Director, T. M. Vick, Jr.;
Pianist, Mrs. C. A. Godfrey; Secretary-Treasurer, W. L.
Bishop. Members were: William H. Brooks, W. L. Bishop,
W. E. Cox, S. T. Cox, W. Hasty Campbell, Albert L. Cox,
Harvey Faulk, R. H. Mann, Jr., Herbert Mann, Harold
Mann, Russell Mann, John L. Mann, Glenn Matthews,
June Matthews, Clifford Payne, Clarence Swaringen, W.
L. Thomas, L. L. Thomas, Dr. Bill Woltz, S. W. Womble,
Jr., Tom Yow, Leonard Yarborough.
At a meeting of the membership of the church held
March 1949, the pastor and J. B. Lipscomb presented a
miniature of the Educational Building they had made.
The plan was adopted with a few changes and it was
decided to have plans and specifications made and to pro-
ceed when enough money was in sight. A building com-
mittee was elected. The committee consisted of }. D.
Pegram, C. N. Castleberry, L. L. Thomas, T. C. Riddle.
This committee reported a month later that Albert L.
Cox had made the plans and specifications of the pro-
posed Educational Building; the membership was in-
vited to go over the plans with the building committee
and pastor for further suggestions or approval. Every
precaution was taken to get the building that would meet
Excavating was begun, in August, by L. P. Cox Co.,
of Jonesboro Heights, Sanford, N. C, who had the gen-
eral supervision for the work.
The structure was to connect with the existing church
In a meeting of the Quarterly Conference, held Sep-
tember 21, 1949, the Sunday School Snuperintendent, }.
B. Lipscomb reported that construction on the Educa-
tional Building had begun. Mr. Lipscomb also reported
the total Church School membership 378, average at-
At a meeting of the membership of the church held
September 25, 1949, the pastor, Rev. T. M. Vick, expressed
his appreciation for the fine year that the church had en-
joyed in 1948-49. The spirit of the church was excellent
and the cooperative attitude of the officials and members
had made it possible for the church to make real progress.
The program of the church had been carried out fully
and the Jonesboro Church was then in the midst of a
$50,000 building program.
At a called Conference on October 30, 1949, the church
Trustees were given authority to assist in the matter of
financing the Educational Building even as to mortgaging
the property held in trust by them. In this same confer-
ence B. R. Avent's resignation as Trustee was accepted
and John D. Pegram was elected to the Board of Trustees
to fill the vacancy created by Mr. Avent's resignation.
For the Conference year 1949-50 the officers of the
church were the same as for the previous year except that
Mrs. L. P. Cox had succeeded Miss Bess Barnes as the
President of WSCS, and Betty Ann Saunders succeeded
Lillie Beth Von Canon as President of the Youth Fellow-
ship. In the list of Stewards we find these new names:
W. L. Bishop, Carl Foushee, O. A. Zachary, and R. H.
Mann, Jr. Church Board of Education, Mrs. B. J. Mann,
Mrs. J. D. Pegram, L. L. Thomas, Mrs. A. L. Isley and
Mrs. T. C. Black.
In 1950 the Woman's Society of Christian Service
officers were the following: President, Mrs. L. P. Cox;
Vice-Presidents, Mrs. Marvin Vick, Jr., Mrs. Sam Davis;
Promotion Secretary, Mrs. S. T. Cox; Recording Secre-
tary, Miss Bess Barnes; Treasurer, Mrs. J. L. Covington;
Secretary of Missionary Education, Mrs. B. J. Mann; Sec-
retary of Spiritual Life, Mrs. A. B. Harrington, Jr.; Secre-
tary of Student Work, Miss Amey Womble; Secretary of
Youth Work, Mrs. R. H. Mann, Jr.; Secretary of Chil-
drens Work, Mrs. Russell Mann; Secretary of Literature
and Publications, Mrs. W. E. Moses; Secretary of Christian
Social Relations, Mrs. Hugh Hunter; Secretary of Status
of Women, Mrs. Albert L. Cox; Secretary of Supply
Work, Mrs. Glenn Matthews. Publicity, Mrs. K. S. Har-
mon. Circle Leaders: Mrs. C. A. Hamilton (Julia Hamil-
ton), Mrs. Eugene Gibson, Mrs. Allen Gibson, Mrs. Rus-
sell Mann, Mrs. Sam Davis, Mrs. T. C. Black. Wes-
leyan Service Guild: President, Mrs. W. L. Bishop; Secre-
tary, Miss Joyce Harrington; Treasurer, Mrs. }. D.
The pastor's report to the fourth Quarterly Conference
held September 27, 1950 shows that this year had seen
much physical progress on the Jonesboro charge. At
Jonesboro the Educational Building was completed; new
and modern equipment had been purchased for the Educa-
tional Building; the kitchen completely equipped for serv-
ice at a total cost of $595.12, paid for by the women of
the church. The kitchen furnishings committee were the
following: Mrs. L. P. Cox, Mrs. L. L. Thomas, Mrs. S. T.
Cox, Mrs. W. E. Moses, Mrs. Glenn Matthews and Mrs.
J. L. Covington.
The pastor's study was furnished by the Wesleyan Serv-
A complete set of Mass Tower and Sanctuary Chimes
were installed by E. S. Cox in honor of Mrs. E. S. Cox
and daughter, Virginia E. Cox.
In the list of officers of the church for the year 1950-
51 we find these additional names: President of Youth
Fellowship, Helen Patton; Stewards: W. H. Campbell,
Hugh Hunter, Sam Davis ; Church Board of Missions and
Church Extension, Mrs. L. P. Cox, Miss Bess Barnes,
Mrs. T. C. Black, Zeb Harrington and Carl Foushee;
Church Board of Education, John D. Pegram, L. L.
Thomas and Mrs. A. L. Isley.
The minutes of the first Quarterly Conference held Jan-
uary 21, 1951 show that the plans made by the pastor this
year were to emphasize the evangelistic program of the
church and continue to work on the program in the
Church School, as it was now completely organized ac-
cording to the plan for a standard school. The pastor's
salary for the current year was $4,000 Jonesboro appor-
tioned $3,000, Lemon Springs, $1,000.
The minutes of the fourth Quarterly Conference of
1951 show that the budget was paid in full. In this same
Conference Mr. Lipscomb reported the total Sunday
School enrollment 385, average attendance 250.
Officers of 1951-June 1952: President Woman's Society
of Christian Service, Mrs. L. P. Cox; Vice President, Mrs.
Marvin Vick, Jr.; Promotion Secretary, Mrs. S. T. Cox;
Recording Secretary, Miss Bess Barnes; Treasurer, Mrs.
J. L. Covington. Secretaries of Work: Spiritual Life, Mrs.
A. B. Harrington; Missionary Education and Service, Mrs.
B. R. Avent, Jr.; Student, Miss Amey Womble; Children's,
Mrs. Russell Mann; Youth, Mrs. Vann O'Connell; Litera-
ture, Mrs. W. E. Moses; Christian Social Relations and
Local Church Activities, Mrs. Hugh Hunter; Status of
Women, Mrs. O. A. Zachary; Supply, Mrs. Sam Davis.
Circle Leaders: Mrs. Hasty Campbell, Mrs. B. J. Mann,
Mrs. S. W. Womble, Jr., Mrs. Glenn Matthews, Mrs. Al-
bert L. Cox. Home Circle Leaders: Mrs. T. C. Black, Mrs.
C. H. Von Canon, Mrs. R. L. Robertson. President, Wes-
leyan Service Guild, Mrs. W. L. Bishop; Vice-President,
Miss Vivian Avent; Recording Secretary, Mrs. L. L.
Thomas; Treasurer, Mrs. J. D. Pegram; Spiritual Life,
Miss Cornelia Avent; Missionary Education, Miss Sarah
Godfrey; Christian Social Relations and L.C.A., Miss
Edythe Wyche; Promotion Secretary, Miss Flora Wyche;
Supply Work, Mrs. Estelle Pruitt, and Mrs. Edward W.
In a general meeting of the Woman's Society held in
November, 1952, Mrs. C. A. Hamilton (Julia Hamilton),
* 1111 '
1 • j. :.■;,*
chairman of church dining room silver ware made an un-
usually good report in which she stated that a complete
service for serving the tables had been bought at a cost of
$177.26. Total budget for the Woman's Society was $729.
The officers of the church for 1951-52 were the same as
the previous year except we find that Janet Harrington
had become the President of the Methodist Youth Fellow-
ship, and S. W. Womble, Jr. had become Superintendent
of Sunday School. The following are listed as the Church
Board of Education: S. W. Womble, Jr., Mrs. Marvin
Vick, Jr., Sam Davis, O. A. Zachary, Glenn Matthews, Mrs.
L. P. Cox, L. L. Thomas, Janet Harrington, John L.
Mann and Mrs. A. L. Isley.
The minutes of the first Quarterly Conference held
February 17, 1952, show that John L. Mann, was recom-
mended to the District Committee on Ministerial Qualifi-
cations for license to preach; license granted.
This year the Jonesboro Church adopted the Unified
Budget plan and accepted a budget of $17,488 which rep-
resented an increase of 100% over the budget raised four
years ago in this church. References to the need of a new
parsonage are found in the minutes of the Quarterly Con-
ference from the beginning of Mr. Vicks's pastorate.
At a called session of the Quarterly Conference June
29, 1952, the building committee and the Board of Trus-
tees of Jonesboro Church were authorized to build a new
parsonage. The revised plans drawn by Albert L. Cox
were approved by the congregation in official church ses-
sion on June 15, 1952.
The Board of Trustees of the Jonesboro Church were
authorized to secure a loan from the National Bank of
Sanford not to exceed $30,000 for the purpose of building
a new parsonage. This same board was also authorized
to sell the old parsonage to O. A. Zachary for $550, the
buyer to move the parsonage away.
The building committee appointed was S. W. Womble,
Jr., chairman, Mrs. W. R. Hartness, Jr., Mrs. Russell
Mann, John B. Lipscomb, Miss Flora Wyche, L. L.
Thomas, and L. P. Cox.
The contract for building the parsonage was given
to L. P. Cox Co. The building was begun in 1952 and
completed in 1953 at a cost of $22,300.
The minutes of the fourth Quarterly Conference held
September 3, 1952, show that the Official Board as per
General Conference, 1952, had been adopted for the
During this pastorate the Jonesboro Church received
$1,000 from the executors of Mrs. Eliza Harris' estate,
when it was settled. This being her request.
The bronze plate on the secretary in the Wesley Work-
ers Bible Class room bears this inscription, "A Memorial
to Mrs. Eliza M. Harris."
Officers of the Woman's Society of Christian Service for
1952-53 were the following: President, Mrs. L. L. Thomas;
Vice President, Mrs. B. J. Mann; Recording Secretary,
Miss Bess Barnes; Assistant Secretary, Mrs. W. E. Moses;
Treasurer, Mrs. J. L. Covington; Promotion Secretary,
Mrs. S. T. Cox; Secretary of Missionary Education and
Service, Mrs. B. R. Avent, Jr.; Secretary of Christian So-
cial Relations — L.C.A., Mrs. Hugh Hunter; Secretary of
Student Work, Mrs. L. P. Cox; Secretary of Youth Work,
Mrs. Vann O'Connell; Secretary Children's Work, Mrs.
T. M. Vick, Jr.; Secretary of Spiritual Life, Mrs. A. L.
Campbell; Secretary of Literature and Publications, Mrs.
[8 4 ]
Herbert Mann; Secretary of Supply Work, Mrs. Sam
Davis; Secretary of Status of Women, Mrs. O. A. Zachary.
Circle Leaders: Mrs. W. H. Campbell, Mrs. Eugene Gib-
son, Mrs. Sam Womble, Jr., Mrs. Harold Mann, Mrs.
Carl Foushee. Home Circle Leaders: Mrs. T. C. Black,
Mrs. C. H. Von Canon, Mrs. R. L. Robertson. Wesleyan
Service Guild: President, Miss Flora Wyche; Vice-Presi-
dent, Miss Vivian Avent; Recording Secretary, Miss Ruth
Martin; Treasurer, Mrs. J. D. Pegram; Promotion Secre-
tary, Miss Cornelia Avent; Missionary Education, Mrs.
D. L. Cox; Spiritual Life, Miss Sarah Godfrey; Christian
Social Relations and L.C.A., Miss Edythe Wyche; Supply,
Mrs. W. L. Bishop.
The total budget for the Woman's Society $729.
At the close of Mr. Vick's fourth year the Annual Con-
ference, 1952, appointed him to Mebane Church in
THE PASTORATE OF REV. W. J. NEESE
Rev. W. J. Neese came to Jonesboro in November, 1952,
by assignment of the Annual Conference. He had served
as pastor of the Ellerbe charge from 1947 to 1952. He
is a native of Graham and is ever alert to all the interests
of the church.
On December 22, 1952, the parsonage family moved
into the new parsonage which is a commodious structure
and modern in every respect.
In the meeting of the first Quarterly Conference, held
January 18, 1953, the pastor, Rev. W. J. Neese, thanked
the membership of the church for the spirit of kindness
and cooperation which had been made manifest by the
people since his coming in November.
The Treasurer's report to this same Conference shows
$3,000 had been paid on Jonesboro's indebtedness.
The officers of the church were the same as previously
reported in 1951-52 with the following change: President,
Methodist Youth Fellowship, John L. Mann.
Organization of the Official Board 1953: Chairman,
Commission on Evangelism, W. L. Bishop; Chairman,
Commission on Education, J. B. Lipscomb; Chairman,
Commission on Missions, Miss Sarah Godfrey; Chairman,
Commission on Finance, L. P. Cox.
An open house was held at the parsonage on Sunday,
April 12, 1953, with approximately two hundred persons
visiting the home.
The records for the year show that the various Com-
missions of the church met regularly and functioned well,
despite the fact that it had taken some time to become ac-
quainted with the new organizations.
Officers of the Woman's Society of Christian Service
for the Conference year (WSCS) running from June
1953 to June 1954 were: President, Mrs. L. L. Thomas;
Vice President, Mrs. B. R. Avent, Jr.; Recording Secre-
tary, Mrs. S. W. Womble, Jr.; Assistant Secretary, Mrs.
W. E. Moses; Treasurer, Mrs. J. L. Covington; Secretary
of Promotion, Mrs. S. T. Cox; Secretaries of Missionary
Education and Service, Miss Alice Green and Mrs. W. J.
Neese; Secretary of Christian Social Relations and Local
Church Activities, Mrs. Harold Mann; Secretary of Stu-
dent Work, Mrs. L. P. Cox; Secretary of Youth Work,
Mrs. Vann O'Connell ; Secretary of Children's Work, Mrs.
B. J. Mann ; Secretary of Spiritual Life, Mrs. Alton Camp-
bell; Secretary of Literature and Publications, Mrs. Shel-
don Harrington; Secretary of Supply Work, Mrs. C. H.
Von Canon; Secretary of Status of Women, Mrs. Russell
Mann. Circle Chairmen: Mrs. C. C. Foushee, Mrs. Eu-
gene Gibson, Mrs. A. B. Harrington, Mrs. Glenn Mat-
thews, Mrs. Carl Foushee. Home Circle Leaders: Mrs.
T. C. Black, Mrs. C. H. Von Canon, Mrs. R. L. Robertson,
Miss Bess Barnes.
Wesleyan Service Guild President, Mrs. Johnnie Har-
rington; Vice-President Mrs. W. L. Bishop; Recording
Secretary, Miss Edythe Wyche; Treasurer, Mrs. John D.
Pegram; Promotion Secretary, Mrs. F. E. McLeod;
Chairman Missionary Education, Miss Sarah Godfrey;
Secretary of Spiritual Life, Miss Vivian Avent; Secretary
of Christian Social Relations and Local Church Activities,
Miss Ruth Martin.
Budget for the Woman's Society was $729.
Delegate to the Conference Woman's Society of Chris-
tian Service in 1953, Mrs. A. B. Harrington.
The following note is given on this meeting of the
Conference at Rocky Mount:
"The N. C. Conference WSCS, at its annual meeting in Rocky
Mount, N. C, March 1953 recommended a bill against pari-mutuel
betting, to be brought before the 1953 session of the State Legis-
At the first separate Conference School of Missions and
Christian Service, held at Duke University in August,
1954, this firm and unrelenting stand against pari-mutuel
betting was reiterated and reenforced by another recom-
mendation as follows:
"In the light of this stand of our Conference, in line with the
pronouncements of The Methodist Church, and in order to avoid
any appearance of evil the Conference Standing Committee on
Christian Social Relations and the Conference Secretary of Status
of Women, recommend that the churches and woman's societies
in our Conference refrain from using money-making methods of
games of chance, such as turkey or cake raffles, bingo parties, etc."
The recommendation is given in full because it shows
the women of the North Carolina Conference in their
School of Missions came to grips with a situation which
should be of vital concern to all church people.
Gifts to the Carrie Womble class room in 1953 were:
Sallman's Head of Christ, by Mrs. E. J. Burns (May
Womble), Drapery, by Mr. and Mrs. R. L. Peele, in mem-
ory of Miss Johnnie May Peele.
On Sunday morning, August 30, 1953, this item was
found in the Church School bulletin:
"Today the members of the Wesley Workers Bible Class are
honoring their teacher, Mrs. L. B. Sasser, whose interest in and
cooperation with this class has endeared her to its members
through the years. Today this class is presenting to its class room,
in honor of Mrs. Sasser, a handsome picture of John Wesley,
founder of Methodism. This is an appropriate presentation, since
the class is named for John Wesley."
One thing of considerable importance in 1953 was the
purchase of an old fashioned organ by the Wesley Work-
ers Bible Class from Mrs. H. Pat Nixon. This organ, in
a good state of preservation, was first used in the sanctuary
of the Memphis Methodist Church, near Broadway.
One of the oustanding achievements of the first year of
the Rev. Mr. Neese's pastorate was the receiving of 28
persons into the church as a result of the United Evange-
In the first Quarterly Conference, held January 3, 1954,
the following officers were reported: Trustees, L. P. Cox,
C. B. Patton, J. D. Pegram, L. L. Thomas, W. L. Thomas;
r 88 1
Stewards, T. C. Riddle, B. R. Avent, B. R. Avent, Jr., W.
L. Bishop, W. H. Campbell, C. N. Castleberry, Dr. M. C.
Covington, L. P. Cox, Carl Foushee, Albert L. Cox, S. T.
Cox, J. B. Lipscomb, Russell Mann, C. B. Patton, R. L.
Robertson, W. L. Thomas, Zeb Harrington, Herbert
Mann, Sam Womble, Jr., Glenn Matthews, J. D. Pegram,
E. S. Cox, A. Paul Rosser, J. L. Covington, Sam Davis,
Hugh Hunter, Raymond Mann, Jr., R. C. Payne, L. L.
Thomas, O. A. Zachary; Church Treasurer, Russell Mann;
Secretary Church School, R. L. Robertson; President,
Methodist Men, K. S. Harmon; Superintendent, Church
School, Sam Womble, Jr.; President, Methodist Youth
Fellowship, Milton Mann; Counsellor, Methodist Youth
Fellowship, Mrs. A. L. Isley; Assistant Counsellor, MYF,
Miss Helen Patton. The Commission chairmen remained
the same as for the previous year except we find that Mrs.
A. L. Isley had succeeded J. B. Lipscomb as Chairman of
Students attending Methodist Schools: Duke University,
Seth T. Cox, Jr.; High Point College, John L. Mann.
The Methodist Men's Club, formed in December, 1953,
was chartered on May 24, 1954, with District Lay Leader,
J. N. Gibson, Jr., of Gibson, presenting the charter.
Officers of the organization are K. S. Harmon, Presi-
dent; A. Paul Rosser, Vice President; James Stephens,
Secretary-Treasurer; E. S. Cox, Reporter. Directors: Dr.
Cade Covington, H. W. Hunter, Carl Foushee. This
new organization of men is indicative of the progress be-
ing made by the Jonesboro Church.
In January, 1954, the pastor stated to the Quarterly Con-
ference that local expenses had been paid as they came
due and $2,500 had been paid on the indebtedness at Jones-
In March, 1954, a Christian Workers School was held
at the Jonesboro Church with all the Methodist churches
in this area participating. The teachers in this school
were: Dr. J. E. Hillman, of Raleigh; Dr. A. J. Walton
and Mrs. B. B. Slaughter of Durham.
On April 4, 1954, the pastor, Rev. W. J. Neese, an-
nounced that the Wesleyan Service Guild had presented
a film strip projector and screen to the church for its use.
The last wedding ceremony at the Jonesboro Church
(while the church was in Fayetteville District) was on
Sunday afternoon June 27, 1954, when the Rev. W. Junius
Neese officiated at the wedding ceremony of Miss Norma
Margaret Cox to Edgar Wesley Calloway.
This church joined others in the Conference in the
Church Attendance Crusade, which began in January and
continued through Easter.
The members of the Board of Stewards of Jonesboro
Church voted August 23, 1954, to adopt a rotating system
for the elected stewards. Albert L. Cox, Dr. M. C. Cov-
ington and John Barr Lipscomb were appointed a com-
mittee by T. C. Riddle, chairman, of the Board of Stew-
ards, to submit a proposed plan for installing a rotation
system, and make a report to the board at the regular
monthly meeting in September.
On September 27, 1954, Albert L. Cox, chairman of the
committee, submitted a proposed plan for installing a
rotation system for elected stewards, made the following
To make provision for those Stewards with a record of faithful
service who have reached the age of seventy-two (72) years, we
recommend that all such Stewards, if they so desire be elected
"Honorary Stewards" as provided in the Discipline. These "Hon-
orary Stewards" shall not be subject to rotation.
We further recommend that the rotation system for the remain-
ing twenty-seven (27) members of the Board of Stewards be
established as follows:
1. That six (6) slips of paper shall be labeled 1955, seven (7)
slips of paper shall be labeled 1956, seven (7) slips of paper shall
be labeled 1957, and seven (7) slips of paper shall be labeled 1958.
That all these slips of paper shall be properly folded, so that the
dates thereon are not visible, and placed in a suitable container for
complete mixing and withdrawal as hereinafter described.
2. That the Secretary shall then call the roll in alphabetical
order. Each time a Steward's name is called an impartial person
will withdraw one slip of paper representing the Conference Year
when that Steward will relinquish his place on the Board of
3. That when a Steward relinquishes his place on the Board
of Stewards he will be replaced on said Board of Stewards for at
least one year.
4. That a Steward, who has been removed from office by this
rotation plan, shall be eligible for re-election to the Board of
Stewards after being out of office for one full year. Nothing
in this provision is to be construed to be a guarantee of election
when one becomes eligible for re-election.
5. That at the beginning of the 1956 Conference Year seven
(7) new Stewards shall be elected to replace the six (6) Stewards
whose terms of office will expire at the close of the 1955 Confer-
ence Year. A similar procedure shall be followed for succeeding
6. That nothing in these recommendations shall be construed to
mean that annual elections of Stewards not be held. The Dis-
cipline requires that Stewards be elected annually for a one (1)
year term. After the initial period required for establishing this
rotation plan, those persons who are elected Stewards will be
eligible for election for four (4) consecutive years if duly elected
each year by the Quarterly Conference.
7. That any person who is called upon to complete the un-
expired term of office for a Steward shall not serve beyond the
next Annual Conference Session unless duly elected for such
office by the Quarterly Conference.
8. That if this plan is adopted a true copy of the same be in-
cluded in the minutes of this meeting.
This report was signed by all three members of the
committee and was unanimously adopted by the Stew-
ards at this meeting.
A Church Conference was called for Sunday, Septem-
ber 5, 1954, following the morning worship service, for
the purpose of considering an important matter. There
had been recent discussion among some of our members
concerning the advisability or inadvisability of petitioning
the North Carolina Conference to make our church a Sta-
tion church — that is, separate it from any other church on
the charge. At the last meeting of the Official Board on
July 26, a majority of the members, present and voting,
expressed themselves as being in favor of so petitioning
the Conference, subject to the approval of the members of
the church and the Quarterly Conference. Thus, on the
first Sunday in September the members of the church had
an opportunity to vote their convictions in this matter.
According to the regulations of the church, only those
who are members of the church and 18 years of age and
older are eligible to vote.
The members of Jonesboro Methodist Church voted
Sunday, September 5, 1954, to become a full time church.
At a church conference session, held immediately after
the morning worship service, the members voted to ask
the North Carolina Conference of the Methodist Church
to put it on a full-time basis.
At the present time Lemon Springs Methodist Church
is a part of the Jonesboro Charge. However, under a
plan proposed at an earlier date by Rev. O. L. Hathaway,
Superintendent of the Fayetteville District, Lemon Springs
church would be placed on a charge with two other
churches in this vicinity.
Final action will be taken on this proposal by the An-
nual Conference session which meets in Raleigh, October
Delegate elected to the Annual Conference: E. S. Cox,
Jonesboro Church. This is the seventh consecutive year
that Mr. Cox has served as a delegate.
The following officers were elected to lead the Woman's
Society of Christian Service for 1954-55; Mrs. Alton Camp-
bell, President; Mrs. B. R. Avent, Jr., Vice President;
Miss Florrie Matthews, Recording Secretary; Mrs. J. L.
Covington, Treasurer; Mrs. L. L. Thomas, Secretary of
Promotion; Mrs. Glenn Matthews and Mrs. W. J. Neese,
Secretary of Missionary Education; Mrs. Harold Mann
CSR and LCA; Mrs. L. P. Cox, Student Work; Mrs.
Vann O'Connell, Youth Work; Mrs. B. J. Mann, Chil-
dren's Work; Mrs. C. N. Castleberry, Spiritual Life;
Mrs. S. G. Harrington, Literature and Publications; Mrs.
C. H. Von Canon, Supply Work; Mrs. Russell Mann,
Status of Women. Circle Chairmen: Mrs. C. C. Foushee,
Mrs. C. B. Patton, Mrs. George Bortz, Mrs. M. C. Cov-
ington, Mrs. Edwin Foushee. Home circle: Mrs. J. M.
Lloyd (Ruth Porter), Miss Bess Barnes.
Wesleyan Service Guild: Miss Sarah Godfrey, Presi-
dent; Mrs. W. L. Bishop, Vice President; Mrs. F. E. Mc-
Leod, Promotion Secretary; Miss Edythe Wyche, Record-
ing Secretary; Mrs. J. D. Pegram, Treasurer; Mrs. L. L.
Thomas, Co-ordinator; Miss Vivian Avent, Spiritual Life.
Miss Ruth Martin, Secretary of Missionary Education;
Miss Frances Buchanan, CSR and LCA; Mrs. Furman
Knight, Supply; Mrs. Johnny Harrington, Status of
Women; Miss Flora Wyche, Membership; Miss Cornelia
Avent, Literature; Mrs. J. A. White, Publicity.
Sunday School Officers, October i, 1954
Pastor W. }. Neese
Superintendent S. W. Womble, Jr.
Secretary R. L. Robertson
Associate Secretary Russell L. Mann
Superintendent of Literature Mrs. C. A. Godfrey
Superintendent Mrs. B. }. Mann
Associate Superintendent Mrs. C. A. Godfrey
Nursery Home Department Mrs. Albert L. Cox
Mrs. R. H. Mann, Jr.
Superintendent Toddlers Class Mrs. W. L. Bishop
Helpers Mrs. Roger Thomas
Mrs. James Stephens
Nursery Mrs. A. J. Dixon
Mrs. Willie Spivey
Superintendent Kindergarten Mrs. W. J. Neese
Associate Superintendent Mrs. B. J. Mann
Kindergarten I . Mrs. W. J. Neese, Mrs. Margaret Worthy,
Miss Mary Ann Polk
Kindergarten II Mrs. B. J. Mann, Mrs. Shelton Dowdy
Superintendent Primary Department Mrs. Carl Foushee
Pianist Mrs. J. B. Lipscomb
1st Year Mrs. C. N. Castleberry, Mrs. Howard Coile
2nd Year Mrs. Russell Mann, Mrs. Carl Foushee
3rd Year. . . .Mrs. A. B. Harrington, Mrs. J. B. Lipscomb
Superintendent Junior Department Miss Ruth Martin
Pianist Miss Lorace Jones
1st Year IV Grade Mrs. J. L. Cashion
2nd Year V Grade Miss Ruth Martin
3rd Year VI Grade James Stephens
Superintendent W. H. Davis
B. R. Avent Boys' Class B. R. Avent
President Bobby Wood
Intermediate Department Allen Dew, Carl Foushee
Senior Department Arnold Medlin
Older Youth Department Clyde Foushee
Superintendent O. A. Zachary
Amey Womble Class Miss Amey Womble
Associates — K. S. Harmon, Miss Mary Dew
President Raymond Mann, Jr.
Pianists Miss Margaret Kelly, Mrs. Baxley Gibson
Wesley Workers Bible Class Mrs. L. B. Sasser
Associates — Mrs. J. P. McDavid, Miss Alice Green
President Mrs. L. P. Cox
Organist's . Mrs. C. H. Von Canon, Miss Claudia Harmon,
Mrs. W. C. Wilson
Mayme Gibbons Bible Class Miss Mayme Gibbons
Associate — Mrs. T. C. Black
President Mrs. J. A. White
Pianist Miss Thelma Harrington
Carrie Womble Class Mrs. S. W. Womble
Associate — Mrs. R. L. Peele
Mecca Bible Class A. L. Isley
Associate — O. A. Zachary
President Albert L. Cox
Pianist Milton Mann
Adult Home Department . . Mrs. S. T. Cox, Mrs. T. C. Black
The names of many people who served the Sunday
School well and for many years, and deserve to be men-
tioned do not occur in the available records; however, the
following are some of the teachers that could be recalled:
Miss Lizzie Bell Avent, L. H. Gibbons, Mrs. J. D. Pegram
(Annis Worthy), Mrs. }. N. Barnes, Mrs. D. B. Buchanan,
Miss Flora McDonald, Mrs. J. R. Dalrymple, Mrs. J. K.
Hunt, Mrs. C. H. Campbell, J. E. Brinn, D. W. Maddox,
Mrs. J. W. Bradley, A. R. Kelly, D. F. Harris, J. R. High,
H. L. Stone, Miss Hazel Copeland, W. F. Veasey, Mrs.
W. C. Stroud, Mrs. Mary E. Thomas, Miss Lyde Humber
and W. L. Thomas.
W. H. Hinson is the Scoutmaster for the Jonesboro
Troop 982, sponsored by the Amey Womble Class. Re-
organized on August 15, 1954, the troop has 24 members;
meetings are held in Fellowship Hall.
On Sunday, October 24, 1954, R. Barry Beard, District
Commissioner, presented the charter to Class President
R. H. Mann, Jr. Officers are Van Talley and Charles
Trebuchon, Jr., Assistant Scoutmasters; and the following
Troop Committee: Raymond H. Mann, Jr., J. B. Gibson,
Harold Mann, Carl Foushee, Van Talley, Edwin Foushee
and Charles Trebuchon, Jr.
On October 25, 1954, a called session of the Quarterly
Conference was held at Jonesboro Church for the purpose
of approving a rotation plan for the elected Stewards of
this church. A resolution was presented to this Confer-
ence by Albert L. Cox for its action and determination,
setting forth in detail the plan and method proposed.
The plan was adopted by the Conference.
On this same date, immediately following the Quar-
terly Conference the Stewards held their regular monthly
meeting. The drawing, as mentioned in the proposed
plan for rotating Stewards was made. The plan will be
effective beginning with the 1954-55 Conference year.
Growth in membership and Sunday School enrollment
has kept pace with building progress. Present member-
ship is 520 with a total Sunday School enrollment of 445.
The pastor's salary is now $4,000, travel expense $500.
The total budget is now $17,203.
Jonesboro Church was made a station church by action
of the Annual Conference held in Edenton Street Church,
Raleigh, N. C, October, 1954.
At this same Conference Jonesboro Church was placed
in the Burlington District, which is one of the two new
districts formed this year, changing Jonesboro Church,
for the first time in its history, from the Fayetteville Dis-
trict. District Superintendent, is A. P. Brantley.
The Committee on Pastoral Relations: B. R. Avent, J.
D. Pegram, L. P. Cox, and L. L. Thomas had requested
the Annual Conference to return Rev. W. J. Neese for
another year. Request granted.
The Annual Conference meeting in Raleigh, N. C, Oc-
tober, 1954, assigned Rev. W. J. Neese for full time pas-
torate at Jonesboro Church.
In the fourth Quarterly Conference the pastor's salary
was fixed at $4,000, travel expense $500. Tentative budg-
et for Jonesboro, 1954-55, S 1 ?^ 00 -
Now that Jonesboro Church has been made a station,
it is launching out on a program all its own. Its mem-
bership recognizes in the new arrangement an opportunity
for a great old institution to render still a greater service
CHURCH OFFICERS, NOVEMBER I, 1 954
Pastor: W. J. Neese: Trustees: L. P. Cox, Chairman,
C. B. Patton, L. L. Thomas, W. L. Thomas, J. D. Pe-
gram. Officers of Board of Stewards: T. Calton Riddle,
Chairman, Dr. M. C. Covington, Vice-Chairman; Russell
Mann, Treasurer; Carl C. Foushee, Secretary. Stewards:
(elected) B. R. A vent, B. R. Avent, Jr., W. L. Bishop,
C. N. Castleberry, W. H. Campbell, J. L. Covington, M.
Cade Covington, L. P. Cox, Albert L. Cox, S. T. Cox, E.
S. Cox, Sam Davis, Carl Foushee, Zeb Harrington, Hugh
Hunter, John B. Lipscomb, Herbert Mann, Raymond
Mann, Jr., Russell Mann, Glenn Matthews, C. B. Patton,
J. D. Pegram, T. C. Riddle, R. L. Robertson, A. Paul
Rosser, L. L. Thomas, W. L. Thomas, Sam W. Womble,
Jr., O. A. Zachary. Collectors: R. L. Robertson, Clyde
Foushee, K. S. Harmon, Harold Mann, M. Cade Cov-
ington, Dan B. Robertson, E. S. Cox. Ushers: Glenn
Matthews, B. G. Smith, Edwin Foushee, James Stephens,
Albert L. Cox, Allen Dew, E. S. Cox, Graydon Foushee.
President, Methodist Youth Fellowship, Calvin Haskins.
Director of Music : Mrs. A. Paul Rosser.
Organist: Mrs. C. A. Godfrey.
Pianist: Miss Claudia Harmon.
Choir members : W. L. Bishop, Mrs. W. L. Bishop, Mrs.
Jimmy Cox, Mrs. J. B. Gibson, Mrs. W. P. Harrington,
Miss Claudia Harmon, Calvin Haskins, Miss Lorace
Jones, Glenn David Lloyd, Mrs. Arnold Medlin, Mrs.
R. H. Mann, Jr., Russell Mann, Milton Mann, Miss Joy
O'Connell, Miss Dulane Oldham, Mrs. Harold Riddle,
Miss Ruby Rosser, W. L. Thomas, L. L. Thomas, Mrs.
Margaret Worthy, S. W. Womble.
Honorary Life Patrons
Name Presented by
Miss Alice Green North Carolina Conference
Miss Sarah G. Godfrey North Carolina Conference WSCS
Honorary Life Memberships
Miss Sarah G. Godfrey Jonesboro WSG
Adult Life Memberships
Mrs. C. F. Malloy Jonesboro WSCS
Mrs. L. L. Thomas Jonesboro WSG
Mrs. L. P. Cox Fayetteville District WSCS
Mrs. T. C. Black Jonesboro WSCS
Miss Bess Barnes Jonesboro WSCS
Mrs. E. L. Watson Jonesboro WSCS
Miss Flora Wyche Jonesboro WSG
Mrs. John D. Pegram (Mildred Pegram) Jonesboro WSG
Miss Alice Green Graham WSCS
Mrs. J. A. McBryde Jonesboro WSCS
Mrs. C. A. Godfrey Jonesboro WSCS
Miss Frances Buchanan Jonesboro WSG
Mrs. T. M. Vick, Jr Jonesboro WSCS and WSG
Miss Vivian Avent Jonesboro WSG
Mrs. W. L. Bishop Jonesboro WSG
Miss Sarah G. Godfrey North Carolina Conference WSG
Mrs. Eugene Gibson Jonesboro WSCS
Mrs. Johnnie Harrington Jonesboro WSG
Honorary Baby Memberships (Given in years past)
Martha Black (Now adult) Jonesboro WMS
Sylvia White (Now adult) Jonesboro WMS
Sarah E. Stone (Now adult) Jonesboro WMS
Jerry Fay Clark (Now teen-age) Jonesboro WMS
Richard L. Cox (Now teen-age) Jonesboro WMS
Sandra Ussery (Now teen-age) Mrs. R. H. Mann
Mary Alice Hunt (Now teen-age) Mrs. J. K. Hunt
Elizabeth Victoria (Vickie) Cox Fayetteville District WSCS
Sally Lou Vick Fayetteville District
Jane Hunter Mrs. Eugene Gibson
Catherine Ann Vick Jonesboro WSG
Eddie Donald Bradley Jonesboro WSG
Thomas Hall Sloan Jonesboro WSG
Sandra Gray Brunner Jonesboro WSG
Sarah Jean Medlin Jonesboro WSG
Bryant Adonas Rosser Jonesboro WSG
Joan Elizabeth McBryde Jonesboro WSG
Joseph Custis Boggs Jonesboro WSG
Elizabeth Faustenia Wakefield Jonesboro WSG
The women of the Methodist churches in China presented three
Adult Life Memberships WSCS to Miss Alice Green during
the years that she served in their country.
Another thing of considerable importance during
World War II was the Service Roll of the church. It
was through the efforts of Mrs. L. L. Parrish that the
names of all the men and women who were in the
armed forces were included on the roll which consisted
of the one hundred five (105) names listed below:
Herman W. Barber, Thomas C. Black, Jr., John R. Bowman,
Leroy Wilson Bowman, Bryant C. Buchanan, F. C. Buchanan,
Osborne Boyce, Dan R. Cameron, Martin Cade Covington, Cam-
eron Crowson, Thomas L. Campbell, Tom Crowson, Fred Camp-
bell, Howard L. Cox, Albert L. Cox, A. J. Dixon, George Voliney
Doby, Carl C. Foushee, Jr., Clyde H. Foushee, Sam L. Foushee.
Edwin Foushee, William H. Godfrey, ** William I. Garris,
Allen E. Gibson, Charles A. Hamilton, Jr., William S. Hayes,
Loin W. Helms, J. L. Covington, Jr., Harold L. Mann, Edward
Wilton Cox, J. T. Cox, Jr., J. Ordra Doby, Fred Buchanan, Ves-
per Cox, Carlton E. Jackson, Jr., Leon Jackson, Leo Jackson.
Harold S. Jackson, Clarence C. Jackson, * John Alvis Jackson.
R. Harold Jordan, Paul A. Kelly, Lawrence H. Kelly, Seldon
P. Kelly, Robert L. Lambeth, Benjamin L. Lambeth, Eugene
Max Lloyd, John M. Lloyd, Jr., L. C. Mann, Jr., Lindsey Mann.
Shelton W. Mann, Tommie C. Mann, Russell L. Mann, * Joe
Henry Mann, **Glenn A. Matthews, M. Foy McDavid, Claude
C. McBryde, Thomas L. Maddox, Hannah Martin, E. Vann
O'Connell, Phillip H. McDavid, Fred McDavid, Percy Measamer.
Malcolm Jackson, J. Elbert O'Connell, James Moser Scott, J. T.
Stone, Billy Seawell, Hinson Harrington, J. Harry Patton, C. B.
Patton, Jr., Robert L. Patton, J. C. Peele, Harold Lynn Peele.
T. Mack Riddle, A. R. Rives, Adonas Paul Rosser, ** William
C. Sink, ** John Quint Sloan, Jack I. Sloan, Ishmael Seawell,
Haynes Smith, Leroy B. Strayhorn, ** Van Wyke Talley, R.
Walker Thomas, John Carroll Thomas, Carl H. Von Canon,
Jr., Lindsey Wilson, W. C. Wilson, Jr., James A. Worthy, William
H. Worthy, Samuel W. Womble, Jr., Ben R. Williams, James H.
Yarborough, Pat Floyd Thomas, Kenneth Worthy, * John Tinnin
Gunter, Wesley Dalrymple, Marvin Thomas, John Henry Worthy,
Wade C. Durham, Ervin Thomas, Talmadge Worthy, Albert
Wilson, **Thomas Woodrow Yarborough.*
Key — **By request. * Those who gave their lives for humanity,
and the right, in World War II.
In recent years the following have served in the armed forces:
Linwood Mann, Max Wilson, Graydon Foushee, J. A. Osborne,
James Henry Caddell, Jimmy Lloyd, Seth T. Cox, Jr., Charles Lee
[ 102 J
A GENERAL SUMMARY
Now that some of the outstanding events of each man's
pastorate have been recorded, it seems wise to record here
a few facts concerning this church. The first being, that
for seventy-nine years the Jonesboro Church has strived to
meet the spiritual needs of this community under the
devoted leadership of many able pastors including the
present pastor, Rev. W. J. Neese.
For the most part it can be said that the church has been
nobly loyal to her pastors, liberal in support of the Meth-
odist institutions, and the missionary spirit and support
It can be said, also, that this church furnished inspira-
tion to many of its pastors, who were desirous of advance-
ment in the work.
That Mrs. S. A. Chaffin was alert to the opportunities
to serve her church is evidenced by the fact that she served
as president of the local Missionary Society for 28 years,
following her death Mrs. J. D. Pegram (Annis Worthy),
was elected to succeed Mrs. Chaffin, an office she held un-
Mr. Jesse L. Godfrey served faithfully as the first treas-
urer of the church an office he held until the year 1907.
Mr. B. R. Avent was elected in this same year, to suc-
ceed Mr. Godfrey, and for forty-three years he served
efficiently as treasurer.
In 1950 B. R. Avent, Jr., succeeded his father as treas-
urer, serving 1951-52-53 to be succeeded in 1954 by Russell
Mann, who is the present treasurer.
Presiding Elders of the Fayetteville District and visiting
ministers of the church were usually guests of the late
Mr. and Mrs. W. A. Godfrey at their colonial home
near the church. Mr. and Mrs. Godfrey were liberal in
their support of the church and parsonage.
Mr. Thomas C. Hoyle (former member) first joined
this church when his family lived in Jonesboro. Of the
early church members he especially remembers the late
Mr. and Mrs. Rora Barnes and family, who lived out in
the country when the Hoyle family first lived in Jones-
boro, but later moved into town to send their chidren
to school. One of their daughters Miss Annie Barnes,
married Dr. E. L. Stamey a Methodist minister. Mr.
Hoyle has served his church in many capacities. In recog-
nition of his faithful years of service the Quarterly Con-
ference of Bethel Church in Greensboro voted unanimous-
ly to name the new Educational Building in honor of
Mr. and Mrs. Hoyle.
Members of this church who attended the first Method-
ist National Conference on Family Life held in Chicago
in October 1952 were, Rev. T. M. Vick, Jr. and Mrs.
In the Methodist Church — Jonesboro Church is still
playing its part. Miss Sarah Godfrey was a delegate to
the National General Assembly held in Cleveland, Ohio
in April 1950.
Mr. J. L. Covington, represented Fayetteville District
and Jonesboro Church as a delegate to the North Caro-
lina Conference, beginning in 1922. He served as a dele-
gate for 12 years. Mr. Covington also served on the
Board of Missions of the North Carolina Conference from
1930 to 1933.
In the Woman's Work of the Church, Jonesboro
Church has furnished many leaders: Miss Belle Worthy
was the first secretary of the Fayetteville District, in 1886.
Mrs. L. L. Thomas was Secretary of Literature and Pub-
lications of the district for one year. Miss Sarah Godfrey
was district secretary of the Wesleyan Service Guild for
three years. She was also secretary of the WSG of the
North Carolina Conference for four years. Mrs. L. P.
Cox was Secretary of Promotion of the Woman's Society
of Christian Service of Fayetteville District from 1948 to
1949 when with great regret she resigned because of other
Miss Alice Green (now a member of this church) was
a missionary to China in 1912, served until 1943.
In 1943 Miss Green, together with thousands of other
American citizens was imprisoned for about seven months.
She was repatriated on the Gripsholm in an exchange of
prisoners, and arrived in the States in December, 1943.
Mrs. L. P. Cox served as Zone Leader for Chatham-
Lee 1946-1947. Mrs. Hugh W. Hunter served as this
same leader from 1948 until 1949.
Miss Sarah Godfrey, now serving as Associate Confer-
ence Secretary, of Wesleyan Service Guild, was honored
as Guild Woman of the Month in the March, 1954, issue
of the Methodist Woman.
Miss Alice Green has retired from the duties of a
missionary. The years have brought to Miss Green a deep
[ 105 ]
sympathy for and understanding of the problems, frustra-
tions, disappointments the Chinese must conquer, and an
interest that will not let her rest while others are not at
peace with themselves and their work.
Jonesboro Church is happy for Miss Green. She has
been relieved of the load that she has carried so long. At
last she can enjoy the activity ahead for her in the local
The Wesley Workers Bible Class of the church is col-
lecting photographs of all the former pastors of the
church to be hung as a group on the wall of the first
floor hall in the educational building.
This class is also collecting photographs of the min-
isters who have gone out from this church. These will
be displayed in the same manner.
After Ministers, W. S. Chaffin, S. V. Hoyle, J. D. Pe-
gram, L. M. Chaffin, T. E. Wyche and L. H. Joyner re-
tired and the families moved to Jonesboro, each man
found much happiness in his associations at the Jonesboro
Church and with the pastors of Jonesboro, with whom
they gathered in their meetings.
Mr. Joyner is the only one now living. He has received
from the pastors and members every consideration and
appreciation for his unfailing faith and devotion to every
The others above named rest in Jonesboro Cemetery,
where Rev. L. H. Gibbons and Rev. V. A. Royall also
Methodist Ministers and members of their families sleep.
Just here testimony is borne to the noble service of the
organist and pianists of the church. The women were
untiring in their efforts to provide the best in music for
the worship services. They were: Miss Minnie Sloan,
Miss Mary Worthy, Miss Mayme Gibbons, Miss Clyde
Buchanan, Miss Blanche Godfrey, Mrs. C. A. Godfrey,
Assistants: Mrs. W. L. Thomas, Mrs. C. H. Von Canon
and for the past two years — Milton Mann. Director of
Music: Mrs. A. Paul Rosser.
In conclusion, appreciation is hereby expressed to the
following who gave some important information on the
history of the church: Mrs. John T. Schaff (Lillian Ar-
nold), daughter of Rev. J. D. Arnold, Mr. Thomas C.
Hoyle, Miss Nannie P. Hoyle, son and daughter of Rev.
S. V. Hoyle, Mrs. D. F. Thomas (Bettie Hinton Kelly),
Mrs. R. N. McMillan (Clyde Buchanan), Dr. W. C. Ball,
Mr. Donn Michael Farris, Duke University's Librarian,
Rev. O. L. Hathaway, Rev. W. J. Neese and members of
the Jonesboro Church, Dr. A. P. Brantley, for appropriate
Scripture, Mrs. B. W. Sherman (Gertrude Winstead),
who promptly responded to my appeal for a typist, and
Mrs. W. E. Cox (Grace Kelly), for assistance with proof-
The name of L. H. Joyner appears in this general sum-
mary as the only retired minister now living, however;
Mr. Joyner, one of the oldest members of this church
passed to his reward on June 7, 1954.
This story of the Jonesboro Church has been a labor of
love. It is on the part of the writer a love gift to the
members of Jonesboro Methodist Church with the earnest
hope that this may be to them both helpful and inspiring.
I used to pass by the churches
Just to see the steeples reaching high up
toward the sky.
It was always fascinating;
And I would stop and look up in the street.
I wished that I could live near one
And have it for inspiration
As it would do something to my heart
I really could not explain.
Some time ago, my wish came true.
Now — my home is near one.
I only have to open my front door,
And there it is across the street.
— Daisy Kelly Cox.
The Background 2
The Church 1
General Summary 103
Arnold, J. D 10
Allred, B. C 32
Ashby, J. M 31
Bradley, J. W 56
Blalock, J. E 53
Boone, B. F. 76
Carden, }. J. 9
Doub, W. B 13
Earnhardt, D. L 26
Eure, H. M 38
Fields, P. H 58
Fouts, D. L 60
Hinson, O. 1 48
Hightower, W. 11
Hoyle, S. V 6
Holden, L. } 17
Humble, J. C 34
Johnson, J. G. 39
Joyner, L. H 35
Neese, W. J 85
North, J. W 14
Parrish, L. L 66
Phillips, B. C 5
Poole, I. T 50
P°P e > E 33
Round, G. F 9
Robinson, C. W. 40
Ross, C. R 43
Sutton, T. H. 42
Stanfield, B. E 45
Thompson, J. E 15
Vick, T. M., Jr 77
Womack, C. P 71
Poem — My Church v
Poem — Steeples 108
Service Roll 101
Special Membership 99